Get stuffed

I often leave Fabulous with a Kong to keep her busy while I’m out at work and I’ve always wondered just how long they actually keep her busy.  As I’ve been at home, this week I thought I’d time Miss Fab’s demolition to get the answer.

Mmmmm. Stuffed and ready for consumption. Mmmmmm.

Flo has 3 sizes of Kongs, some medium sized ones from when she was little, a few large and a few XL.  I almost exclusively use minced beef alongside treats such as liver treats, dog biscuits, jerky strips and chews.  The bottom hole is sometimes plugged with a bit of peanut butter or Kong Stuffing.  Flo’s not really fussed by either of those options and doesn’t make any effort to eat them.  Furthermore, I find the remnants annoyingly difficult to get out when I’m cleaning the Kong, so I’ve started opting for the less messy option of dropping a treat in the bottom to cover the hole.  Next I usually put in some minced beef and push it down quite tight.  Then there’ll be a layer of treats, sometimes followed by a bit of lactose free yoghurt.  I’ll also push in a chew stick, down the centre, so that the end is poking up through out the top.  Then more minced beef, more treats or a few broken doggie bics, pack them down firmly and finally, seal the end with a good dollop of lactose free yoghurt.  Into that I usually push a few more little treats.  After that, they go into the freezer.  Sometimes I’ll put the whole Kong in a tub or tube of water and then freeze it so that it is in a big ice block when I give it to Flo.  If I’m going to do that then I don’t put lactose free yoghurt in the end to seal it, but just fill the end of it with minced beef – it seems to seal it quite well.  This whole thing can take a fair old while to prepare and I usually have an audience of Flo and George sitting at my feet.  It’s fair to say George enjoys a little bit of mince.  He gets in between me and the kitchen counter and reaches up to try and get some from the worktop.  Why does he do that?  Because it works.  :)

So, how long did it take her… a large, stuffed, frozen Kong took her 34 minutes to empty.  An XL, stuffed, frozen one took her 62 minutes.  Both these where non-stop, undivided attention.  She LOVES her Kongs.  They are definitely worth spending the time it takes to stuff them.

First treat

Yummy yoghurt.

Uncovering the next layer

There are still treats in there!

This is exhausting work...

Time to pick it up and shake it... and voila!

All finished... NEXT...

The early morning walks I’d envisaged happening this week haven’t.  Apparently I’m not as good at mornings as I thought I was going to be!  Maybe next time I have a bit of time off…

On Saturday Scotland were playing England in the world cup.  Many of you will understand the importance of any meeting of these two countries in a sporting fixture.  It runs deeper than an ordinary game.  It is fair to say that I fully expected to be able to go for our walk at the normal time in the cooler late afternoon, however, when it came to half time Scotland were leading and it was shaping up to be a pretty good game.  Flo spent a lot of time staring at me as I yelled at that rectangular thing which sometimes has moving pictures of dogs and birds on it.  Alas poor Flo… she was marched, indeed QUICK time marched, ’round Holmes Jungle at half time with absolutely no extra sniffing time.  How rude.  Scotland were leading for most of the game but were pipped at the post by a good try from the English team in the last 5 mins.  It put us out of the competition but it was a good effort.

This entry was posted in dogs, Food, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Get stuffed

  1. Remington says:

    Kongs are the best! You have THREE of them! Cool!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks for visiting!

      Flo is a very, very lucky puppy. She actually has more like 9 Kongs, but 5 of them are either puppy Kongs medium Kongs, so they don’t get stuffed very much any more – Flo’s just too big for them now.

      H and Flo

  2. Mango says:

    I keep getting my momma out of bed earlier and earlier so that she will have time for the morning walkies. But you know what? It seems like the earlier I get her up the longer it takes for her to get outside for fun. What’s up with that?

    Those kongs sure look like a lot of work.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  3. We just discovered your blog through the Saturday Pet Bloggers Hop! We love finsing great ways to stuff our Kongs! That look sreally yummy!

    We’d like to invite you to add this post to our Tasty Tuesday Bloghop, dedicated to great dog food and treats. If you would like to join in, just hop over to http://www.kolchakpuggle.com/2011/10/celebrate-with-style-on-turkey-day.html and add your link!

  4. SUGAR says:

    Woof! Woof! WOW! Happy Tasty Tuesday. Lots of Golden Thanks for joining our TT Blog HOP. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  5. Declan says:

    I have a Kong, though I call it my Dong. Mum says people will get the wrong idea, but I’ve no idea what she is talking about. Hehe! Deccy

  6. bigdogzola says:

    Yum yum – I like the medium sized one because I can bounce it around and get the goodies much faster…heehee..but thats probably why my human tends to give me the XL one with frozen yummies in it…grrrrr… – it takes ages!

  7. Different layers of treats sounds like a really nice idea. Reminds me of layered cake! Kip only has one Kong but I think that the Kong works so great I just might have to get a another one or two for Kip. Maybe someday I’ll get 7 of them so I can just make a week’s worth in advance:P

  8. andy smith says:

    Great blog, well written and very funny!! Keep writing, from andy, mandy, sam and riven x

Leave a Reply

