Signs you may be becoming the crazy cat/dog person

Okay, so I’ve never really been worried about what other people thought.  At least I thought I hadn’t until it came time to get another pet and I decided that I’d go with a dog for fear that I would earn the neighbourhood’s crazy cat lady title if I got another cat. Anyway, it got me to thinking; what are the signs that you might be going down that road… you know, the one that leads to children quickening their pace as they pass your house… and I came up with a list.

  1. You not only speak to your cat/dog, you ask it for its opinion too; ‘Do you think we should… blah blah blah?’.  You may even answer for your cat/dog… just occasionally… maybe.
  2. You spend more time in the pet food aisle at the supermarket than you do in the human food aisles.
  3. You are never without an emergency poo bag but frequently turn up to the supermarket without a shopping bag.
  4. You find liver treats in the bottoms of your pockets.
  5. The pet shop staff all know you and your animals.
  6. You leave the air conditioner on for your cat/dog when you go out.
  7. There are more ‘animal’ towels in the linen cupboard than ‘people’ towels.
  8. Your cat(s)/dog(s) generate more laundry than you do.
  9. You have more than one kitchen shelf dedicated to cat/dog food and treats.
  10. You would rather spend time with your cat(s)/dog(s) than some of your acquaintances.
  11. Your couch and/or the back seat of your car are the same colour as your animals.
  12. You refer to your cat(s)/dog(s) as ‘the kids’.
  13. The cleaning guy asks how many cats/dogs you own when you hand over a rug to be cleaned.
  14. If you can’t take your dog with you, you’d rather not go.  And finally…
  15. You have a pet blog!

I think it might be too late but I shall wear my badge with pride.  And maybe I’ll get a big, floppy, floral hat to wear too.  :D

Anybody got any other things to add?

This is a Blog Hop

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in cats, dogs, pets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Signs you may be becoming the crazy cat/dog person

  1. You people can be so funny. Here I was worried about being a crazy people dog. -Bongo

  2. Prudence says:

    Mom does all those things! She’s always talking to me while we’re out… embarressing I say, baroooo!

  3. rumpydog says:

    Well, you got Jen pegged pretty good. When her pay got cut she actually started my blog to make money to pay for my doggie daycare and vet bills.

    I guess it’s too late for her too.

  4. Melanie says:

    Uh oh. I’m in serious trouble then! And to add to your list, “You are having difficulty typing the words to your pet blog because there is currently a cat straddling your keyboard.”

  5. Jodi Stone says:

    You hit the highlights for me! I would add, every meal you create has at least a little bit of fur in it. ;-)

  6. Leslie says:

    Having just found your blog (and now worrying about Fergus), I feel I must say – we don’t just leave the AC on for Bella, we TURN it on for her. Humans? ‘Hey, suck it up, it’s only heat.’ Bella? Oh dear, let me get that AC for you.’ Same goes for heat. It’s truly pathetic.

    As for preferring to hang out with the dog rather than the human acquaintances, anti-socialite that I am, I always thought that was normal. :]

Leave a Reply

