To air condition or not to air condition…

Flo’s skin – fabulous.
George’s wound – fine.
Fergus – home.  For the weekend.  :)

… and breathe.

I’m not sure about my nursing prowess.  I’m quite good at fussing, but nursing?

Our feline heroine is none too impressed with her caged environment.  I’ve actually put her cage up on the end of the bed so that she can see out the window down to the garden when she’s not sleeping.  The bedroom windowsill is one of her favourite spots to sit, so I thought that was appropriate.

Checking out what’s happening in the garden

Flo is allowed in and out of the bedroom but it’s totally off-limits to George.  He’s not happy about that and tries to get in at every opportunity.  I think Fergus has caught sight of him once since she’s been home.  In her new accommodation, Fergie has a new, deep litter tray, a bowl of water, some towels and a new little bed.  The bed is a later addition – I’d put it in before and there was no room left as ‘walking space’ so I took it out, but I put it in again this afternoon and she was straight onto it, padding away, and she hasn’t come off it since, so I think it’s a winner.  She’s had beds before but has never slept in them.  I think it’s more comfortable to lie on than the towels on the hard tray.

Oooo. Pad pad pad.
Ahhhh.

When I first put her into the crate she spent about an hour clawing at the bars or at anything she could reach through the bars, including flesh.  My flesh.  I did have a feeling that she would be a bit unsettled when she first got home because she would expect to be able to wander around in her own environment.  However, she seems to have settled down over the last 24 hours.   She’s really hungry but I’m sticking to what the vet said in terms of food.  Her wish to eat was thoughtfully conveyed at 2-hourly intervals during the night when she would claw me through the bars and meow.  A little bit of attention in the way of chin tickles and pats seemed to sort her out though.  The other thing is that the food is going in but it’s not coming out the other end yet.  She’s using the litter tray, but nothing of any substance (so to speak) has appeared as yet.  I’d feel more comfortable about letting her eat a little more if I knew that it wasn’t backing up in her system.  She’s enjoying lots of attention, albeit either through the bars or through the open door of the cage.  I haven’t picked her up… I’m not comfortable picking her up at all though the vet did show me how they’d been doing it, when necessary.  I just feel as though she’s held together by stitches at the moment.

Now to a technical issue… air temperature… HOW WARM OR COLD IS IT SUPPOSED TO BE IN HER ROOM??????  One half of her is furry and the other half is shaved.  I’ve got the air conditioner on for her… but is it getting too cold?  When I switch it off it warms up so quickly… ARGH! She’s in her bed, shaved side up.  Is she shaved side up because she’s more comfortable like that or because she’s too hot?  She doesn’t feel cold to touch (except for her ears).  ARGH!  I put the aircon on because she’s spent nearly 2 weeks in an air conditioned environment.  As she is a cat who prefers to be outdoors, she’s normally in the heat all day, with air conditioning at night if she chooses to come into the bedroom, but then she’s inclined to snuggle in for a bit of warmth.  ARGH!  Maybe that’s why she’s so pleased with the bed… she’s too cold… ARGH!

The v-e-t would like to have her back in the surgery during the week as I won’t be at home all day and I agree that that’s the best place for her when I’m not at home.  So, 7.45am on Monday morning we’ve got to take her back and give him an update on the weekend. At this point, I need to say three cheers for the v-e-t.  I received the first bill when I picked her up yesterday.  He’s billed me for three quarters of what is actually itemised.  One of the things I noticed is that he’s only listed one consultation, and at a reduced rate.  I’ve seen him at least TEN times more than that, and never for less than 20 mins.  Even though I joke about the vets living mortgage free and driving around in new trucks because of the amount that I’ve paid over at the surgery over the last few years, I fully acknowledge that a vet with more than 30 years experience has been coaxing my cat to eat by spoon feeding her, and hasn’t even charged me for the privilege.

Hello, old friend

Poor little Fergus, she’s got a long road ahead of her, but thankfully she won’t be on it alone.  Flo and I will be right there with her.  George… not so sure about that.

This is a blog hop.  Follow the link to join in.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in cats, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to To air condition or not to air condition…

  1. Hi! We came to visit from the Saturday Blog Hop and we are purrin our bestest purrs for Fergus and you, the mum/nurse…You have a loverly blog and we will be back to visit again soon!

  2. rumpydog says:

    I wish Fergus a fast recovery. Poor dear. And vets really are wonderful. If mine charged me every time I called with questions or concerns he’d be rich!

  3. Alexandra says:

    Hi, I read the whole story, just wanted to send my best wishes and good thoughts your way.

  4. Tegan says:

    I love your idea of putting the crate to the window for window-watching. All the best for a speedy recovery.

  5. foxglove says:

    Hoping more good news for Fergus!

  6. Paws crossed for a speedy recovery!
    Kisses and Tail Wags,
    Dachshund Nola

  7. Patty says:

    You definitely have a wonderful vet. He definitely cares about the animals and not money.
    I’m sending best wishes for Fergus as well as your whole crew. You have definitely had a rough couple of weeks. Get well soon, Fergus!

    Patty, and the greyhounds Joey and Scout

  8. Hoping for continued good news.

  9. Declan says:

    She’s one tough putty tat and with a family that love her! Deccy x

  10. Hey there…
    This some of the most fabulous news I have heard in a long time. Your ordeal has turned a corner. I believe that people are put in your path at the right time for a reason – that v-e-t must be one of them. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am that Fergus is on the mend…an amazing story of endurance.
    Thank you again for the nomination of the Liebster Award. I’m not sure if I’m going to have the time to ‘pass-it-on’, but I appreciate the gesture immensely. Thank you.
    So sorry to hear about Flo’s allergic reaction and subsequent anti-biotics.
    Sending lotsaluv to you all and hoping that your animals (and you) go from strength to strength. :)

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Caryl, we are feeling much less stressed here in our house, especially because of little Fergus’ resilience with everything that’s happened to her. Flo’s allergy is nothing to be worried about, I’m sure we’ll get a handle on it. It’s probably something seasonal and even if it isn’t we can manage it! Thank you for your positive support through our series of mini-dramas!

      H and Flo

Leave a Reply

