Green sludge and guppies

We managed to muster a bit of motivation to re-line the fish pond this week.  Actually, no, that’s not entirely true.  The motivation was provided via elevated power and water bills as a result of having to top the leaky pond up.  Despite it being the monsoon season, it has been decidedly un-monsoony for a few weeks so the water was disappearing rapidly and regularly.  I have learned through bitter experience that nothing I choose to do in the way of DIY around the house or garden ever turns out to be a little job, so I was mentally prepared for shocks, surprises and all that the sludgy pond may send my way.

After spending a day standing in the sludge removing all six million two hundred and thirty one (very closely related) guppies (I swear I only put 8 in there) and the two exceedingly elusive goldfish I then emptied the 3 or 4 thousand litres of water one bucket at a time.

As the job wore on, the question of ‘Where the blankety blank is that blankety blank leak?’ turned into ‘How the blankety blank is there any blankety blank water in there at all?’  There were three layers of roots in between the layers of plastic that had been cobbled together to fashion a pond liner.  None of the pieces of plastic actually covered the pond completely, so the roots have had a merry old time creeping in between, through, over and around.  Anyone who’s met a palm root system before will feel my pain.  Below is a pictorial diary.  Now, you may be asking yourself what this has got to do with Flo.  Not a lot, really, but she did take on the role of supervisor and she kept a close watch over the displaced fish to ensure that they didn’t make a break for it.  They didn’t, though some mysteriously vanished during water quality testing.

So, job nearly finished.  I’m having a couple of days off pond duty just now and will finish it next week.

The green murky depths wherein lie more guppies than you can shake a stick at

Fishes' temporary accommodation

Flo's not letting them out of her sight...

Meanwhile, back at the coal face... enter the root systems from hell

I'll just take this off for some quality control

Maybe I'll show it to the fish

Flo (for scale) next to the roots that were pulled out... this is not the finished pile unfortunately...

Flo paying VERY close attention to the fish

Er, I can confirm that the water quality remains suitable

Finally, the water goes in

This is a blog hop.  Click the link below to join in.  :)

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in can't think of a category, pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Green sludge and guppies

  1. Declan says:

    Looks like quite a job, despite your Mum’s obvious exaggeration! I rcognise it as mine is just the same….!
    Please visit my blog to collect your latest award! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      Me? Exaggerate? Who, me? How very dare you.

      Thank you for passing on the Pawsome Blogger, we are v. chuffed. When we get back to the big D-town we’ll have a good look and pass it on. :) xx

  2. Bassas Blog says:

    Hilarious story and great photos! It does look like a back breaking job! I hope you and the six million two hundred and thirty one (very closely related) guppies and the two exceedingly elusive goldfish have recovered! :)

    P.S. Flo looked very relaxed throughout :)

    • Flo says:

      Thanks B. Flo was taking her role as supervisor very seriously. Between rest breaks she did come and stand and look at the big hole in the ground and shake her head a bit. I think she must’ve worked for a Council in a past life.

  3. rumpydog says:

    That sure looks like alot of work! Thank Dog you had Flo to offer you help!

    • Flo says:

      It was a lot of work. No, correction, it IS a lot of work… not quite finished yet. I couldn’t have done it without Flo. Invaluable. :)

  4. Bassetmomma says:

    Bet your glad that job’s done! Flo looks like a great helper guarding those roots! LOL!

  5. Yay Pets says:

    I am very impressed you would take on that project! And good job supervising Flo! I bet the pond will be amazing when you are done!

    • Flo says:

      I didn’t choose to take on the project… it was a necessity. I’d much rather have been lounging the relatively clean water of the pool!

  6. That looks like a fun project but a lot of hard work! Love the photos of Flo keeping an eye on the fishies :) Too cute!

  7. Love this story! I wish I had a little fish pond though seeing the amount of work and upkeep is daunting. I have 3 little water pots instead, none of which contain fish anymore but do provide a retreat for a few little froggies.

    That pile of roots is amazing! Your palm must have been thriving with access to all that water.

    • Flo says:

      You don’t have fish???? Want some? I could’ve dropped some off on my way through Sydney this weekend! Froggie ponds are fab. You’ve got to love the sound of those frogs kicking off when it rains. :)

      As for the palm trees – their days are numbered! All they do is drop fronds, invade the pond, attract Torres Strait Island pigeons who relocate the seeds to the pool (post digestion) and drop fruit which Flo eats until she is sick. Grrrrr.

  8. Chrissy Anne says:

    Goodness me I cannot believe you pulled all of that out of your pond! I’ve been considering sorting a pond but fear my laziness will prevent me taking care of it properly as that really does look like a heck of a lot of work! Nice blog by the way, found you through Deccy :)

    • Flo says:

      I can’t believe I pulled that much out either. I didn’t take them all out because I figured they were now an integral part of the architecture and removing them may have resulted in total collapse. Then I’d have been stuffed. Thanks for popping over from Deccy’s. We love Deccy. :)

  9. Bongo says:

    Flo, good job with that water quality testing.

  10. You a did a very good job Fish watching Flo!

    Slobbers
    xxx

  11. Mom wants a fish pond too, glad that you showed us how much hard work it is!

  12. Jodi Stone says:

    Oh you poor thing! I didn’t know a pond could be such trouble, at least you had dear Flo there to supervise, but I hope she didn’t eat any fish!

  13. Hello Flo and Family! We read about your blog on Pippa’s blog and decided to come and say hello. We are one dog (English Springer Spaniel), 4 Abyssinian cats, and a horse (Percheron) living in rural France with our mistress whom we call #1. It’s very nice to meet you!

    • Flo says:

      Hello! I loooove Springer spaniels… they are so enthusiastic about everything. The are the architypal ‘oooo, my favourite thing!’ to everything dogs! Your cats are just gorgeous too; mine are moggies, but beautiful. :)

Leave a Reply

