Raindrops are Falling on my Head

It’s been a very wet week… a monsoonal low hovered above us for the first part of the week, threatening to develop into a cyclone, so work was cancelled on Wednesday.  Thankfully the tropical low came to nothing but I was grateful for the day off.  The low pressure system has been hanging around causing a lot of rainfall and some strong winds.  Consequently our walks have been stolen when possible, avoiding the worst of the rain; and have been a bit shorter than usual.  This lack of exercise is not without its repercussions and the fabulous one destroyed a professional development handout booklet from work.  Whoops.  :)  The dog really did eat my homework!

At the moment our thoughts are with those communities to our west who are being hammered by Severe Tropical Cyclone Lua, which is currently a category 3 system.

Ominous skies

Our doggy play date wasn’t cancelled yesterday but was a bit soggy.

This is what Flo looked like after a few minutes.  She didn’t smell very nice either.

Did you see me skid into that puddle?

This is how she got into that state.  It’s all Sammy’s fault.

Puddle!

But it’s worth it – they have so much fun!

Meanwhile, back in the garden, we found this spider.  It’s a rainbow spiny orb weaver spider (Gasteracantha westringi).

Even its underside is colourful

We’re taking part in the Life with Dogs Saturday Pet Blog Hop.  Click on the link to join in.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in Darwin, Ridgeback behaviour, Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Raindrops are Falling on my Head

  1. Bassetmomma says:

    Okay that is the creepiest spider I have ever seen! Brrr! Happy Patty’s Day!

  2. rumpydog says:

    I know what ya mean about the rain. We’ve had a rainy winter and so far a wet spring ( not officially spring yet, but it’s warm enough to be). As for the spider…. beautiful! But I happen to find spiders fascinating.

  3. Bassas Blog says:

    Seeing Flo and Sammy having fun together is wonderful. I wish I was there! Tall person likes the spider pictures.

  4. Declan Greyhound says:

    Oh God, Mum is off on one about your fabulous flora and fauna again! She wants one of those spiders now. Mind you, she has had quite a lot of Guinness…..! Deccy x

  5. Have a Great Weekend:)

  6. Paws To Talk says:

    Flo stay safe from the storms. Nothing like getting into some mud to amuse yourself.
    Bella and DiDi

  7. That looks like a fun playmate for Flo! :-)

  8. fromsophiesview says:

    I agree with BassetMomma..that bug is enough to terrify me!!! Happy St. Paddy’s Day!!

  9. Hey Flo, Jet here. Sorry you experienced yucky weather… although it looks like you enjoy puddles as much as I do. Hope everyone is safe. Oh, btw, we have those same kind of spiders!

    • Flo says:

      Cool – what colour are your spiny spiders? I’m not a spider fan (to say the least) but I don’t mind findnig interesting ones out in the garden – so long as that’s where they stay. I’m afraid they have to run the chemical gauntlet if they come inside… I’d never seen this species in the garden before.

  10. Jodi Stone says:

    It looks like they had a lot of fun and might I say, I damn glad I don’t have that type of spider here!!

  11. Flo looks like a true mud-dog. What fun!
    Love the spider. We have similar kinds here…they’re incredibly colourful.
    Sending lotsaluv
    MAXMOM IN SOUTH AFRICA

Leave a Reply

