Energyenergyenergyenergyenergyenergy

Stop press: Flo officially neglected – cruelty case to follow!

I think that’s what today’s headline would read if Flo could type it herself.  Her leg has been dodgy for a few weeks again but, because of having to go away and everything that’s been going on, she hasn’t been rested.  Until this week.  She’s only had one walk since Sunday.  What’s worse, I’ve been taking Sunny for walks WITHOUT HER!

It has been awful leaving her behind when I go to collect him, especially when I take him to our doggy gang meeting and poor Flo can smell all her besties on my legs when I come home.  It’s not as though I could try to hide it from her… she gets all the information in a few sniffs.  Obviously she has let her displeasure be known, mainly with washing removal.

What’s worse, I can see her energy levels rising on a daily basis.  Normally, in the morning our routine goes something like this.  I wake up and go over into her pen where she raises her weary head and sleepily accepts a glucosamine tablet.  She discovers that the weight of the tablet combined with her weariness makes it impossible to keep her head up, so she puts it back down again and starts doing that paw over the eyes thing.  I go through to feed the cats.  Flo stays in bed.  While I’m feeding the cats I usually hear the click clack of her coming up the hallway followed by the schlumpf of her collapsing in a heap on her bed in the living room.  I pop my head round the wall and she’s got her head down again.  I go and get her bowl from outside, give it a wash and put her breakfast into it, walk to the door, followed by George and Fergus, who want out.  I let George out.  Fergus looks at me with a furrowed brow, lets out a plaintiff cry and then disappears off to a window ledge somewhere to watch what her dumb brother gets up to outside.  I call Flo, who looks up and stares at me for a few seconds while she registers that Flo is her name, then hauls her rather cute but quite heavy backside up off her bed and staggers to the door, ready for breakfast. That’s typically what happens.  What’s happening now that she’s not been burning any energy off on walks is: I wake up to the less-than-fabulous sound of whining.  I ignore said whining.  I then hear the sound of something being chewed.  I lift my weary head off the pillow and look up to see what she has in her jaws – it’s got to be either her stuffie, her bed or her blanket.  I ask her what she’s doing.  She looks at me, forehead wrinkled, hears ‘blah blah blah’ and then carries on.  I get up to go and give her her glucosamine tablet.  She’s already standing by the time I get there.  She tries to take a finger with the tablet.  We try again until she takes it gently.  I go to feed the cats, stopping to give George (who is usually sitting in the hallway) a scratch on the way past.  Flo is at the kitchen before me, sniffing what’s on the kitchen bench, just in case something new has been put there since she went to bed the night before.  I get the cats’ food ready with Fergus wrapped around my ankles, George’s tail underfoot and Flo’s nose everywhere.  I go and get Flo’s bowl, wash it and put her breakfast into it.  She goes outside, I put the bowl down and she ignores it and heads off downstairs to check for washing.  I’m right behind her, ready to gather it in.

In the afternoons, when I’d normally come home and have a nap, Flo would normally have one too.  Now she goes and pulls all her toys out of her toy tub and throws them round the living room, then chooses one to eviscerate.

In an attempt to busy her mind we’ve taken up more training with mini chicken treats.  Yum.  I’m trying clicker training.  She’s incredibly smart.  She was always the quickest at puppy school, doing things for the trainer that she couldn’t usually get puppies to do, and I had her sitting and lying down really soon after she arrived home.  However, training kind of stalled.  Actually, it was more a dead stop, with engine off.  I suppose my lazy justification was that I didn’t mind that she wasn’t perfectly behaved and I was hoping that she would just become more settled once she was over 2.  I know.  Don’t say it.  Anyway, it’s been quite fun re-connecting with her through training.  I’m getting her to focus on me when I call her name (yes, sounds basic doesn’t it…) and we’ve also learnt ‘paw’, when she shakes my hand with her paw.  She can already ‘touch’ – this is where I hold my hand out and she touches it on command with her nose, and I’m going to try and work this one up to finding treats under cups.  I’m also going to try to get her to ‘roll over’, which is one of the things the trainer was surprised to have her doing in the space of 10 minutes at puppy school.  I’m not sure if she’s going to go for this one – she doesn’t normally roll over naturally, I think her frame makes it awkward to do that, but I could be wrong.

Flo: Ahhh. So this is how you install reticulation. Interesting - it looks harder and more time consuming than pulling it out with your teeth.

Really, I just want her leg to get better, and preferably before she rediscovers the REinstalled reticulation pipes.  The weather has cooled down by a noticeable few degrees in the last 3 days, which means that Flo’ll be more active during the mornings when it’s now only about 20 or 21 degrees C.  I know those of you that live in cooler climates will be guffawing loudly now – I really don’t mean to sound glib about what would be, in Scotland, a temperature which triggers the baring of a lot of pasty white flesh, but when you’re used to a fairly unwavering 26-32 degs, a drop of 5 or 6 degrees really is a shock to the system.  So please stop laughing.  We know we are lightweight namby pambies.

If anyone has ANY tips for helping Flo’s legs please feel free to share.  I’m giving her glucosamine plus a joint health chew every day.  I have also been adding coconut oil to her food.  Any other suggestions will be gratefully received.

We’re taking part in the Saturday Pet Blogger Hop hosted by Life with dogs.  Click on the link below to join in.  Have fun!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in Dog pals, Health, pets, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Energyenergyenergyenergyenergyenergy

  1. Bassetmomma says:

    It’s hard trying to make your dog rest when their legs are bad. They don’t understand it. I take Udo’s Omega 3-6-9 oil everyday and when my late basset Barney’s legs got bad as he aged I started putting a tbsp on his food in the morning. This did really seem to help him. Hope this helps! :-)

    • Flo says:

      Thanks – I’ve actually been putting Omega 3 & 6 with vits A, D and E in with her food too – forgot to mention that! I only just started that a few days ago though – did you notice an immediate difference or did it take a while to kick in?

  2. Great post – I really enjoy your sense of humor! I go through this with Daisy every time we have so much rain that the back yard turns into mud, which means she can’t play with her Frisbee and burn off the extra energy. :-) And who is Sunny? I don’t think I’ve seen him here before – he is a handsome boy! My dogs get jealous when they smell other dogs on me too. The joke around here is that I’m always out photographing OTHER dogs instead of them. I really hope Flo is doing better soon.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Laurie! Sunny is Flo’s friend! We’re walking him just now for his owner – sometimes we look after him, sometimes they look after Flo. Flo does more damage at their house than Sunny does at ours… :D Have a great weekend.

  3. Hi Y’all,

    Hoppin’ by to say “hello” and see how y’all are doing. Hope Flo’s leg is better soon! Paws crossed here!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  4. We probably missed something crucial along the way but is this a ligament issue with Flo? About 10 months ago, Tommy had the start of a cruciate ligament injury and was pout on a minimum of one month of rest and Rimadyl by our vet. Given that Tommy lives to run and catch balls and frisbees, this was a serious situation. She even told me to take him for walks ON THE LEASH! Needless to say, he pulled so hard that he was probably doing himself more harm than if he had been running. so we gave that idea up. In the end, I did put the ball and frisbee away (the former for about 6-8 weeks, the leather for 4-5 months) and just reduced the duration of our walks, hoping he would not overtax himself. It did seem to work in his case and he has been fine since then, back to chasing hi small. I gave him Glucosamine supplements for a while but no longer do so.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks… yes, I think lead walks will be in our immediate future also. We don’t know what is wrong with her leg – she t-boned another dog about a year ago – all her (extremely expensive) x-rays are fine – she had some lovely looking bones, she had a course of cartosomething, which is for cartilege, but they didn’t make any difference. Actually, nothing made any difference except resting and taking it easy. I think we’ll have to knock our play sessions with the gang on the head again. :( I haven’t heard about that thing your vet gave… will go and do some reading. Thank you. :)

  5. Why do I feel I’ve missed some posts here? Who’s Sunny? And what happened to Flo’s leg(s)? :( I’ll have to go back and check after this comment.

    Bad legs…what we gave Mr T, who was allergic to every single med the vet prescribed -
    (Assuming you want natural as far as possible…)
    Glucosamine (I don’t believe this has been conclusively proven to do anything though)
    Green lip mussel powder (inherited from a neighbour whose old dog used it. She died, we got the supp, and continued with it)
    Slippery elm (good anti-inflam, also good for digestive strength. Georgia takes a tiny tsp everyday)
    Flaxseed oil (better than salmon oil, a wider range of omegas)
    Certain veggies like celery are good for inflammation.
    The best thing however…MASSAGE.
    We eventually found Rufus could tolerate 1 cartrophen jab a month which was very helpful.
    Do you know why Flo’s legs are bad?

    Good luck with Flo. poor baby. I totally understand how you both feel. Mr T didn’t get a walk for 2 or 3 months after his first op, and again after his second. It was sad not just for him. HUGS x

    P.S. we’re not namby pambies!!! It’s bloody freezing here too. About 20 in the daytime and at least 8 in the morning. BRRRRR!!!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Typist – that is really helpful. Glucosamine… well, it works for my mum’s joints, although her tablets aren’t beef flavoured, so I’m giving it a whirl (heheheh) – I’m not sure if it’s working or not – her legs getting better last time seemed to coincide with when I started giving it to her (but that’s also when her skin issues reared their ugly head). We tried a course of cartrowhat-not when she first started limping a year ago and I thought the first one made a bit of a difference, but I’m not so sure after the other 3 made no difference at all. The supplement I’m giving Flo just now is Vet’s All Natural Omega blend, which has flax seed oil, sunflower oil, shark liver oil and wheatgerm oil in it. I haven’t heard about some of those other things, especially the slippery elm. I’ll do a bit of reading and see if I can find some. I tried massaging her the other evening – the problem is that we’re not entirely sure where the problem is – because her x-rays were clear… I had a good feel of her joints to see which one felt warmer and I THINK it’s her shoulder… ARGH. I need a good book on this natural stuff for dogs. .

      • I’m sure there are plenty of those books around. And blogs :) Maybe give these ones a look http://dawgbusiness.blogspot.com.au/ for lots of all sorts of ailments and http://daleysdogyears.com/ which is for senior dogs who often have bone, muscle, joint issues so may be helpful.

        It’s a worry I know, especially since Flo is so young. When I started massaging Rufus, my vet lent me his dog anatomy book. Was very helpful. I think it gave the old boy a lot of relief and comfort. Good luck with finding the source of the problem.

  6. Jodi Stone says:

    Here’s my thoughts. When I can’t manage to get Delilah out (for whatever reason) I play hide the carrot game. I make her wait and she watches as I starting ‘hiding’ carrots. Most of them are in fairly conspicuous spots but none-the-less once I release her she is on the hunt, nose to the ground. If you have a decent yard you could even do this outside. It is like an Easter Egg hunt only with food and for the dogs.

    My other thought is this, when Delilah had her episodes we contacted a holistic vet who prescribed some Chinese herbs, I’m not sure if he could do anything for you from the states but perhaps and e-mail to him and he could help. I e-mailed him Delilah’s x-rays and he checked them and consulted with me in that fashion.

    If you are interested….http://landauvet.com/

    Keep us posted!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Jodi… I like the sound of the carrot thing… I did used to throw chews, biccies and such out around the garden when she was younger and when I couldn’t exercise her before because of her leg. She got super quick at finding things, even though we have a fairly good sized and ‘busy’ garden with lots of hidy holes. I might try that with sweet potato – she likes sweet potato. I know that because she’s excavated them from the garden! I’m hoping that the leg will mend with time and rest and in the meantime I’ll keep on with the supplements and oils! And thanks for the website – did you post about that? I seem to remember reading a post a long time ago – probably when I first found your blog. In all honesty, if she becomes as destructive as she did last time, it really wasn’t THAT bad… considering what some of my friends’ dogs have done through sheer naughtiness. Whatever she does, it usually makes me smile a bit too – I don’t want a boring dog!

  7. Get well soon, Flo! :)

  8. Bassas Blog says:

    Poor Flo :( I read the comments and there are some good suggestions – I hope you found them useful. I think Jodi’s suggestion of games might help xx

  9. Hi, I really feel for you all going through this chronic pain thing with Flo right now. It just gets so disheartening to see our pups in pain and not being able to help them. I have three dogs in my pack with hip dysplasia, and have also nursed two of my other dogs through fractured legs and hips when I first brought them home. I would stay as far away from Rimadyl (also goes by the name Carprofen) as possible, yes it works… I will give it that much, but if you do some research into it, a surprising number of families have lost pets due to sudden organ failure while on it. There is a lot of information about it online, if you feel like doing research.

    What I use for my dogs suffering from joint pain is:

    1. Pet Naturals of Vermont – Extra strength Hip & Joint formula
    2. Grizzly Salmon Oil – All Natural Dog Food Supplement

    I am having really really good results with these two products, where as with other “similar” products I have not seen any visible results. Have a look into them and see what you think, I just order both off of amazon.com which is easy and fast, and pretty affordable. I find it takes a month to 6 weeks once I start a dog on these products to start really noticing a good visible change. And about 10 days to two weeks of them going off to see the symptoms come back… then i get them back on again real quick and keep up the therapy long term :)

    If you are open to trying homeopathy, I always use Arnica 30c and followed by Ruta 30c when I notice any of my crew limping after play or exercise, I have watched it bring swelling right down. Its not something you can/should give long term, but for acute suffering (especially in Flo’s case where she might struggle with this off and on for the rest of her life) I really do use it at the first sign of injury/pain with wonderful results.

    I hope that Flo gets better really soon!
    With lots of caring wishes,
    kathryn
    ps. As for a book, Dr. Pitcairn is one of the best!

    • Flo says:

      Wow thanks for all that great info! I shall do some reading! In all honesty, Flo doesn’t appear to be in pain, so much as a bit stiff… the only time she’s yelped was a year ago at the time she collided with the dog and the problems started. I have some arnica somewhere so I’ll look into that. :)

Leave a Reply

