(Almost) Wordless Wednesday – What a croc

See that log on the beach in the background. It isn’t a log.

We’ve joined Blog Paws Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop.  Click on their link to join in.

This entry was posted in Darwin, Wildlife, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to (Almost) Wordless Wednesday – What a croc

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    OMG!! That must be one BIG croc!

  2. Declan Greyhound says:

    Could you not have got a close-up….!! ;-) Deccy x

  3. Jodi Stone says:

    Good grief, I wouldn’t even have gotten as close as you did!! Those suckers can run FAST!

  4. Paws To Talk says:

    Wow! Stay far away from that thing!
    Bella and DiDi

  5. Bassas Blog says:

    Be careful. I’ve heard that those things bite!

  6. Be careful. We don’t want to know that Flo is as delicious as she is cute. :)

  7. Oh my! Did you get any closer? Was Flo on the leash? I would have panicked because The Pea would almost certainly have gone up to it.

    We saw a pod of dolphins from our back porch today. By the time the man brought Georgia down to the water, they were gone. So close they were!

    • Flo says:

      I didn’t have Flo because of her leg, and had I she would’ve been on the lead – I don’t trust her recall and she has a nasty habit of running up to things that are out of place on ‘her’ beach and barking at them (sorry spear fisherman). I had Sunny and had been throwing a ball into the water for him until someone let me know there was a croc about. He’s well enough behaved that I didn’t have to leash him. The croc was stalking dogs though and had a go at at least one. No-one hurt thankfully.

      How wonderful to see a pod of dolphins so close – it’s a bit spesh to be able to get so close to wild things isn’t it. Sigh. :)

      • Is that normal for crocs to go after dogs on land?

        So, do you (the zoologist) use the word POD for dolphins? My hubby was telling me last night that I probably got it wrong. Why he was snarking on MY comment I do not know.

      • Flo says:

        Yes, it’s a pod of dolphins. Now you will get to hear those three magical words from hubby… ‘you were right’.

        From my own eye-witness sources (!) I hear that the croc swam up to the dog and snapped, so the croc was in the water. They really are clumsy on land and you could outrun a saltie of that size (I used to work with crocs…). Freshies are faster, but they’re more likely to be running away from you. The thing is that you don’t want to be in that area near the front legs because they’ll whip ’round and have you, which is what I would be worried about with an off leash, excitable dog. There are a few dogs taken by crocs every year, and a lot go missing. A massive croc was trapped at the Daly River yesterday – it had taken something like 6 dogs apparently.

  8. Bassetmomma says:

    OMG! That’s scary! I would have been high tailing it outta there!

  9. KB says:

    That is a gorgeous photo, truly great! The log is scary, though!

  10. ckmorita says:

    That’s scary! And when I first looked at the picture I thought about how much fun it would be for my dogs to go running off leash on the beach until I read the caption about the “log” in the background.

    • Flo says:

      Yeah, it is fun to let them off, but some nights we get a reminder of where we live, and what we share our waterways with… there is a croc trap just up from where this was taken – I suspect that croc’ll end up in there before too long.

Leave a Reply

