Jaws of destruction

I could be jinxing this, but after a few weeks of exercising regularly every evening, the destruction seems to be decreasing… but I still return home anticipating the worst and I may well regret that observation when I get home this afternoon.  Of course, the lack of destroyed items may also be as a result of there being fewer things left for Flo to get her teeth into.  I invested in some new chew toys and put a couple downstairs with her.  One of them is a rubber treat dispensing toy, which she enjoyed the first couple of times she had it.  The third time it was toast.  I came home to tiny bits of purple rubber, albeit in fairly neat piles as opposed to strewn from one end of the garden to the other.

Despite this happy turn in behaviour, I’m afraid that when the gardener asked if I would like him to repair the reticulation on the side of the garden which has taken a canine hammering, I didn’t have the confidence in my dog to say yes.  I am fairly sure that any new reticulation would be just too tempting!

Today is bin day… the day when the bins, which protect one side of the downstairs table and its contents from those teeth, are moved to the nature strip and all manner of goodies are exposed.  A fortnight ago 20kg of pool salt was redistributed around the garden.  There is still 10kg on the table.  Will she or won’t she?

The jaws of destruction

Wildlife on our walks this week included whistling kites, forest kingfishers and wallabies.

Forest kingfisher

Burnt Cycad

The weather is warming up and the build up is on its way.  We’ve both been feeling it and have been forced to take some afternoon naps under the fan so that we don’t get overheated.

Overheating avoidance strategy

This entry was posted in dogs, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jaws of destruction

  1. Jodi Stone says:

    Howdy,
    Just discovered your blog from BlogPaws, I read back through the posts (I was going to suggest Kong, but see you’ve already attempted anything I might have suggested.) I did have one thought though, since you had been away for a while do you think Flo is experiencing separation anxiety? Maybe she is worried you won’t come back and that is why she seeks and destroys? One of things I’ve heard to do with separation anxiety is to (on days you are home) open the door, step out, close the door, open the door, step in, give treat. You start just doing this and build it up til you are out of the house longer and longer. In this way she begins to look forward to you leaving because she knows she will be treated when you return.

    I hope you don’t mind the unsolicited advice, I figured if you were putting it out there you were ok with people suggesting. If I’m wrong, please pardon my faux paw!

    I will be checking back to see what Flo is up to next and am adding you to my blogroll because I like your blog. 🙂

    Cheers!

    • Flo says:

      Hi Jodi,
      Thanks for checking in and for the advice! I’m sorry to say that I am fairly sure she’s just a puppy with a lot of energy and big teeth! We’ve got about 10 kongs of various sizes which I stuff and freeze along with puzzle balls, etc. The smaller Kongs I even freeze in a cylinder of water so she’s got to work extra hard… part of the problem is that, while she doesn’t say no to treats, she’s not as obsessed by food as other dogs. She’s not demonstrating any separation anxiety at all… other than a few cushions, the destruction only began when I had to start resting her and I am pleased to say that it has really dropped off since we’ve started walking again – there’s a lesson for owners! She’s always been used to a good walk every day. It is certainly true that she was a bit more destructive while I was away when she was being looked after by some good friends. In all honesty, I was prepared for the worst when I got her and then she totally shocked me when she was so good!

      I’ve really enjoyed checking out your blog and hope you don’t mind me putting a link to it up on mine – what beautiful dogs you have. 🙂 I think they’ve both landed on their feet at your house! What would we do without them?!

      H

Leave a Reply

