The Dog House Is Currently Occupied

We’re very excited here as we’ve been nominated for our first award by one of our newest and very sophisticated friends, Uptowndog.

Liebster means “dearest” in German, and the award is intended to help up-and-coming blogs get the attention they deserve. As with any award, there is a bit of ceremony involved. In order to accept the award, we must do the following:

1. Copy and paste the award on our blog.

2. Link back to the blogger who gave us the award.

3. Pick our five favorite blogs with less than 200 followers, and leave a comment on their blog to let them know they have received the award.

4. Hope that the five blogs chosen will keep spreading the love and pass it on to five more blogs.

There are so many amazing blogs out there.  I have concentrated on animal blogs and I hope you enjoy visiting them.

Firstly, http://www.declansdogsblog.co.uk/
Declan is a particularly articulate rescue greyhound who lives in England.  He’s got an excellent sense of humour.  We love Deccy!

Secondly, http://littledogsonlongleashes.blogspot.com/
Little Dogs On Long Leashes.  This blog also makes me laugh out loud.  I like laughing out loud.  It adds to the ‘crazy animal lady’ reputation I think I’m earning amongst the neighbourhood children.  Mwahahahahahaha!

Thirdly, http://usyaka.wordpress.com/
Usyaka is a very regal, oriental shorthair cat.  Her blog contains some simply gorgeous images.

Fourthly, http://greyhoundgardens.com/itsa-greyt-day/
Another fabulous chronicle of greyhound (and others’) adventures.

Finally, http://africanwhitechild.blogspot.com/
Living Life To The Max is a wonderful, inspiring blog.

We’ve been back to the v-e-t this week with Fergus and Flo.

Fergus is doing really well.  She’s continuing to eat AND it’s definitely moving through her system now.  Her stitches have been removed, the swelling around the area where her abdominal muscle was reattached has gone down and the abrasion on the inside of her back leg is nearly healed.  She’s got a pocket of fluid behind her front leg so she’s to remain confined for another couple of weeks at least.  I hope she can cope with that.  Actually, I hope I can cope with it… Fergus has dealt with everything thrown at her so far.  I can up the amount of meals I’m feeding her, so she’s now getting another bowl of food before I go to bed.  This seemed to help all of us sleep through the night last night for the first time.  She was waking up at 4.30 to 5am ish every morning, ravenous when she would make a point of ensuring that I was also awake!  Anyway, the v-e-t has an annoying habit of keeping my feet firmly on the ground and reminded me that we still have a long journey ahead of us.  He’s right, I know, but I’m still going to enjoy how well she’s doing.

Flo’s allergic reaction has reappeared.  We don’t know what has caused it but it has returned with a vengence.  Her entire undercarriage has been covered in pus-filled spots which appeared almost overnight.  I think that the infection may be because she was jumping in and out of the creek earlier on in the week.  So, she’s on a course of antibiotics and anti-histamines.  The v-e-t doesn’t want to give her much medication because she’s so young, and I’m with him on that one, but she does require a certain amount to clear the spots.  Now I have to try and work out what it is that’s causing it.  It could be anything.  I’m not sure where she ferrets about in the garden when I’m at work, if she ferrets around at all.  I’m going to have to get in there and see if there are any plants flowering.  Since the rain has started, the grass in Holmes Jungle is getting longer and she simply has to leap in and out of it, so there’s a distinct possibility that it’s something there.   Who knows.  I’ve got holidays coming up at the end of next weeks so I can spend a bit more time on the investigation… CSI Darwin!  Thankfully, she doesn’t seem uncomfortable with it, so we haven’t had to stop our walks or anything, although we did stay away from the creek this evening!

Flo was VERY naughty when she went to stay with a friend earlier on in the week.  Once a month I have a bag of garden rubbish picked up and so on those days I arrange for her fabulousness to stay at a friend’s so that she doesn’t get out of the garden when the boys loading up their truck.  I dropped her off at my friend’s on my way to work and she ran into the garden to play with Sammy.  No goodbye.  No ‘see ya later’.  Nothing.  Just off and running with her mate.  So I closed both sets of gates and locked them behind me.  When my friend, C, returned, (she was already off on a ridiculously long bike ride when I’d dropped Flo off) all was well.  C hopped into the pool to cool off and when she got out…. no Flo.  ANYWHERE.  She called and called, searched and searched.  Nothing.  So she hopped in the car and drove off through the neighbourhood looking for her.  Nothing.  She phoned the local council’s pound and the RSPCA.  Nothing.  By this stage I knew C was trying to get hold of me but I couldn’t answer my phone and had to wait until lunch to find out what was wrong.  After driving ’round for a while, C arrived back home and went to the kitchen to do what any normal person would do in a crisis; raid the biscuit tin.  She turned ’round with a mouthful of biscuit to see Madame Flo looking at her, at which point C screamed ‘FLOOOOOOOO’ much to Flooooooooooo’s surprise, who then backed down the hallway looking rather disturbed.  So, where had she been?  No idea.  It’s possible that in the hour that she and Sammy were alone before C got home that she had run herself ragged and completely passed out in a dark corner somewhere, totally oblivious to her name being called.  It’s possible that she (somehow) got into a neighbouring garden and then came back, but I don’t think so.  I don’t think she was loose on the street because I don’t think she’d have returned and got back in to C’s garden before someone picked her up.  So, it’s an unsolved mystery.  We need a ‘Flo-cam’ on her collar to see what she gets up to.  Naughty, naughty, naughty Flo.  My poor friend was having a heart attack.  Naughty Flo!  She’s firmly in the dog house, but apparently it’s not that bad in there!

What? Me? Disappear? At 40kg? Ridiculous… and for my next trick…

This is a Pet Blogger Hop.  Click on the link to hop on board.
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in awards, cats, dogs, Health, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Dog House Is Currently Occupied

  1. Dear Fab,

    Thank you for nominating me for the award! How Very Exciting! It’s been a long time since anyone nominated me for anything other than general dogsbody. The Typist is crook again but says she’ll get to work on it soon(ish) when her nose gets unstuffed. I wouldn’t hold my breath though. She’s very unreliable.

    I’m sorry to hear you have pus on your belly. That sucks. I get all sorts of bubbles and rashes too. The Typist hoses my belly, legs and head down every time I come back from a walk plus I get a medicated wash whenever it flares up. I’m also now on a homecooked natural diet. It’s helped a lot and is better than taking pills. I hate pills. They don’t taste good at all and get stuck in my throat.

    Okay. So that’s it for now. Please have a good weekend and give Fergus a hug for me too. It’s not nice to be crook.

    Your friend, Georgia xox

    • Flo says:

      Ooo. Sorry you’re sick. There’re some horrible lergies doing the rounds up here too. I don’t want ’em… it’s nearly holiday time.

      I’d like to move Flo on to a diet without processed dog biscuits but will wait until she’s not a puppy any more. I’m pretty sure it’s caused by something environmental, but you never can tell. As for the pills… shhhhhhh. She doesn’t know she’s taking them. The ball of cat food that they’re hidden in doesn’t touch the sides. They’re already working. I think I might have to start washing her down after every walk too. I normally only do it after a beach walk so she’s not covered in salt.

      Hope you feel better v soon. 😦

      H and Flo

  2. Declan says:

    I’m impressed Flo… you will simply have to let me know how to do the disappearing trick, I could get up to all sorts of mischief if I knew how to do that 🙂
    I’m glad that Fergus is continuing to improve, I bet she can’t wait to be let out… won’t be long now Fergus, just stick with it for another couple of weeks…

    P.S. thanks for the blog award, I was so excited to receive it… of course my mum’s are keen to make sure it doesn’t go to my head… but they aren’t gonna win that battle hehe… Deccy x

  3. Nanny McFur says:

    Congrats on the award!

  4. *clapping paws* Congratulations on your award!

  5. BOL Flo, you naughty naughty girl! Thank dog you’re safe now. Congrats on the award, and we’re so happy Fergus is doing well! We had a dog once that got pus spots too, dirty water and fox tail grass was the issue.
    Dachshund Nola

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Nola. I’m not sure what fox tail grass is, but it sounds mean! I think we will mostly be smelling of shampoo for a while!

      H and Flo

  6. Bongo says:

    Congratulations on your award and so glad Fergus is doing better. Flo, I like your disappearing act. That sounds like something I might do.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Bongo. I know that the whole disappearing things sounds like fun, and I think you might actually be better at it than Flo, it’s not fun for the hand that feeds you. You might want to think about keeping her on side. 🙂

  7. Bassetmomma says:

    Congratulations on your award. Sounds like Fergus is coming along!

  8. Uptown Dog says:

    I can’t wait to check out the blogs you nominated for Liebster! I hope you get to the bottom of Flo’s allergic reaction. I had a skin condition when I was a puppy, and after lots of expensive tests (sorry Mom!) it turned out that I was allergic to my dog food. No fun!

  9. Jodi Stone says:

    Hello dear, I have another award for you, the Kreativ Blogger award, read about it here and keep up the good work http://jodistone.wordpress.com/

    • Flo says:

      Oh wow! Thanks. I’ve got a Wordless Wednesday post ready for tomorrow so will post it and pass it on at the weekend. And yes, that will give me a chance to think about it too! 🙂

      H and spotty Flo!

Leave a Reply

