Christmas Wish Lists

Wow!  Two of our lovely friends have nominated us for the Kreativ Blogger award.

The first is Jodi Stone and her Life With Sampson and Delilah.  This is one of the first blogs I started to read.  I love the tales that come from these two and feel a lot of empathy for the things that Jodi goes through with Delilah, the slightly naughty rescue lab.  There are lots of good tips to be found amongst those posts!

The second is Deanna and her mob at For the Love of my Dogs, although they’re not all dogs.  I started following their blog a few weeks ago and just love the story of Scarlett.  There’s always something going on over there.

Part of the award is that you have to think of 10 things that people might not know about you… this is the hard part… hmmm.  I’ve had a few days to think about it but am still finding it difficult.

1.   I lived in Hong Kong for 18 years, followed by time in Scotland, Switzerland and now Australia.
2.   I am a zoologist and a teacher, but I wanted to be an air stewardess, then a vet nurse, then an RSPCA Inspector when I was younger.
3.   I think less is more when it comes to Christmas lights on houses but not when it comes to Christmas choccies like Ferrero Rocher and Almond Rocca.
4.   I think the word ‘plump’ should be used more.  It’s a great word.  So is ‘discombobulated’.  If enough people share my opinion of Christmas choccies then I predict a good future for these words!
5.   I am a Scot who prefers gin & tonic to whiskey (sorry Grandad).
6.   I overcame an adult onset fear of dogs 3 years ago…. paaaahaaaaa now look at me with my 40kg hound!
7.   I LOVE pedicures, but only the good ones, you know, where they put your feet in bags of hot wax.
8.   I make a mean lemon meringue pie.
9.   I hit a hole in one with my (vomit-inducing) pink golf clubs much to the disgust of real golfers everywhere.
10.  I am utterly disturbed by the thought of a butterfly landing on me.

There!  Did it.  Now for the FUN part – passing it on!

1.  Wazeau’s World.  It’s a world of beautiful parrots and felines.  🙂
2.  Uptown Dog.  This is one of our faves… Uptown Dog has recently moved to the big smoke of NY.  Follow his adventures in his new city.
3.  Bonesdiary.  I’m a sucker for blogs that make me laugh and this one certainly does!
4.  Something Wagging This Way Comes.  There are so many varied posts on Something Wagging.  I love it.

And so to the season which hurtles towards us…
I wondered what Fergus, George and Flo would put on their Christmas wish list.  Flo’s a dog, so everything to her is ‘my favourite thing’… well, maybe she’s not as bad as a spaniel, but you know what I mean.  She’s generally easy to please.  Here’s what I imagine their lists would look like…

Flo
1.  Pats.
2.  Lots of puppy play sessions.
3.  Being allowed to evicerate toys without getting ‘that look’.
4.  Disposable thumbs; the world’s your oyster with disposable thumbs – you could open your own biscuit barrel, open tins of tuna (even the ones with those little pull-things) pick up those little carpentaria palm seeds, pinch the cats, write your own Christmas list (and cheques)…
5.  Pats.
6.  Uninterrupted access to Fergus and George’s food bowls.
7.  Pats.

George
1.  More food.
2.  No Flo.
3.  No Fergus.
4.  A gecko that can’t run away.
5.  A shorter tail that doesn’t get trodden on as much.
6.  Sushi (salmon or tuna please).

.

.

.

 Fergus
1.  No George.  Actually, no other cats at all.
2.  A free pass to stay out all night.
3.  A cage-free existence.
4.  Somewhere quiet to sleep all day.
5.  A frog.
6.  No more trips to the v-e-t.

On the subject of the shaved one… she continues to do well, albeit in her caged environment.  I am really hoping that the v-e-t says we can release her to a room this week when we visit.  She does still have a slightly concerning lump on her chest, but it doesn’t seem to bother her and it’s not interfering with her eating or digestion.  Fingers crossed.  She’s taken very well to this new life of hers and really doesn’t complain at all.   I am still amazed by her… and feel very lucky.  I’ve been leaving the door of her room open so that she can see George and vice-versa.  It’s very strange – George, who is Fergus’ number one tormentor, is very reluctant to enter her room at all.  I’m not sure what’s going on there.  She hasn’t appeared disturbed by his presence at the door or in the room when he has come in, but he’s just keeping his distance.  This makes me uneasy.  What’s he planning?

This is a blog hop.  Click the link below and hop on!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in awards, cats, dogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Christmas Wish Lists

  1. Declan says:

    Congrats on the award. Hope everyone gets all they want for Christmas! Deccy x

  2. Pamela says:

    Thank you so much for the Kreativ Blogger award. It’s high praise indeed from such a witty blogger.

    And I loved your 10 things. Of course now I’m sucking my thumb in the corner because I’m nowhere near as interesting.

    I’ll pass it along soon. Have a great weekend!

  3. This is way cool…lemon meringue pie…TOP TOP of my Dads list….and choccies…have you tried Lindor Chocolate Truffles…OMG to die for…my Dads boss’ bro was a distributor for these and so Xmas was a truffle fest….Hope you all Have a Grand Holiday Fest too…Cheers!

  4. Congrats on your award, we love reading your blog! We really enjoyed learning more about you and the Christmas lists are quite adorable– my pups and kitty would love all of those things…it would be like hitting the jackpot! 🙂

  5. Kyuni says:

    congratulations on your award… I noticed that Flo’s wish list has 3 pats..so here Flo lots of virtual pats on the head…P.S. why not add doggie massage to that list…

    • Flo says:

      That’s a very good one for the list! Flo already gets lots of massages – all the silly medicated shampoo on the market requires that it remain on the dog for at least 10 minutes. So she gets a good 10 minute massage to keep her from running off and rubbing medicated shampoo all over the place until I can rinse it off!

  6. congratulations flo!

    some interesting 10 things there. #10 puzzles me. you’re the 1st person i know with such a phobia, and especially for a zoologist lol 🙂

    • Flo says:

      Re number 10… I KNOW! I was always a bit worried that I would never be taken seriously but entemology is a teeeeeeeeny tiiiiiiiiny part of a zoology degree and let’s face it, entemologists are the ones that pin butterflies to bits of polystyrene and adorn them with labels, so no danger of one of THOSE ones landing on me. I had to let giant hissing cockroaches climb all over me when I worked at the zoo, without looking like I wanted to run away screaming for the hills, so I’m sure, if necessary I could face the butterfly thing. Urgh.

  7. Bongo says:

    Congrats on your reward – loved learning more about you. I hope everyone gets what they want for Christmas – especially lots of pats.

  8. Bassas Blog says:

    Hi Flo, congratulations on your two awards!. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I thought I would come and see you and I am pleased I did. I am now following you 🙂

  9. Uptown Dog says:

    Thanks so much for passing the award onto us! It is going to be tough thinking of 10 things…this might take us awhile. In the meantime I need to do something about this sudden craving for lemon meringue pie…

  10. Melanie says:

    Congratulations!

    I’ve never had my feet put into a bag of wax before. I am intrigued by this.

Leave a Reply

