Back to the vet again!

Well, unfortunately Fergus has been back up at the v-e-t’s for x-rays today.  I brought her Thursday appointment forward because of the lump that was concerning me.  I was worried that she might have popped a stitch and that what I could feel in the lump were her intestines.  The x-rays show that that isn’t the case, thankfully.  Her intestines seem to be where they ought to be, which is great but the v-e-t thinks that it might be fatty tissue from around her organs that has protruded through what may be a fault in the abdominal muscle tissue where it was reattached to the ribs.  It’s hard to tell.  The upshot of it is that she’s got to go through another operation tomorrow.  The anaesthetic is still a risk for her, but nowhere near as high as it was the last time.  We are hoping that her chest cavity remains sealed and her lungs stay inflated through this op.

I know this is a set back, but she’s so much stronger now than she was 4 weeks ago, and she came through that, so I am hopeful that all will be well.

 

This entry was posted in cats, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Back to the vet again!

  1. Declan says:

    Well we’ll certainly be thinking about you and Fergus and wishing her all the very best good greyhound vibes! She’s such a fighter, we know she won’t give up now! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      I know, poor wee soul. She’s a tough little bod. I hate to put her through anything more but there really aren’t any other options. If any cat can sail through it, she can.

  2. Oh wow! Flo’s story is pretty incredible, I must say. I am sure that things will go well from here on. You should write it up when she is fully recovered and put it up as a ‘page’ on your blog – Flo’s story of inspiration and courage (including yours :))…and incredible journey!
    Thinking of you all today and sending my prayers that all will go well,
    sending lotsaluv
    MAXMOM IN SA

  3. Alexandra says:

    I wish good luck and health to Fergus.

  4. Bassas Blog says:

    Poor Fergus 😦 I hope all goes well with the operation. I’ll be thinking of him.

  5. rumpydog says:

    I’m keeping Flo in my thoughts. I hope all goes well and recovery is swift!

  6. Flo says:

    Thanks Bassas and Rumpy.

  7. poor Fergus. that sounds awful. by now, you must all be at the vet’s. i wish you the best. keep us informed. hugs xox

  8. Thinking of you and paws crossed
    Dachshund Nola

  9. Bongo says:

    Praying that Fergus comes through with flying colors.

  10. Flo says:

    Thanks Nola and Bongo. She’s out of surgery and doing well. Big smiles here. 😀

Leave a Reply

