Fergus’ Friday. Freeeeeeedom!

Our little furry friend has been allowed out of her confinement!  It’s such a milestone and she is almost as excited about it as I am!  I think.

Freeeeeeeeedom!

As well as giving me the okay to let her out, the v-e-t removed some of her stitches, AND she’s allowed to start eating  biccies again.  This means that she is now no longer reliant on me feeding her every few hours as she can go and help herself when she’s hungry, which in turn means that we’re all sleeping soundly past 4.30am or 5am.

She seems to be quite happy to be out.  I’d let her out briefly on Monday when I cleaned the cage, and she turned around within a minute and jumped back in, which made me worry that I now had an agorophobic cat on my hands.  Not so.  She is being confined to one room as there are a limited number of places she can jump up to in the bedroom;  I am slightly paranoid that she could still do some internal damage leaping up and down off the dining room table.

This is comfy… can I sleep here?

It didn’t take Fergus long to work her way back to where her cage has been during the day for the last 7 weeks!

The big challenge now is how to get her and George back together again.  Fergus has never enjoyed George’s company in HER house, but I’m not sure that she’s going to be the problem.  Historically, George has always tormented Fergus in a slightly dominant but more ‘annoying little brother’ way.  He would hide in doorways and ambush her as she walked up the hallway, or just generally vent his temper on her when he’d had a bad day.  But the household was basically calm, and everyone for the most part co-existed, almost harmoniously.  However, George has been behaving a little strangely.  Despite leaving the door to the bedroom open, he’s been VERY reluctant to enter, almost recognising it as Fergus’ territory.  Now that she’s out of the cage, I’m the one who’s reluctant to let him wander in and out, but I’ve got a gate arrangement going on at the door.  Yesterday I left the door open but the gate shut and George came up to investigate while Fergus was sitting on the other side.  George sniffed a little, hissed at her and walked away.  This behaviour worries me because he never used to hiss at her and makes me think that he’s now perceiving her as a threat in his HIS house.  George has a really nasty streak and I don’t want him to hurt her.

I’m not entirely sure how to move forward from here… if anyone has any suggestions, I’m all ears.

Happy cat and happy owner
This entry was posted in cats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fergus’ Friday. Freeeeeeedom!

  1. Bongo says:

    So glad Fergus is starting to get out and about. I wonder if she has a different smell about her because of the healing that George doesn’t like.

    • Flo says:

      I’m not sure; she does smell a bit different, a bit like the vet’s surgery. He can see her though and although she’s shaved she still looks like Fergus. Maybe he’ll behave differently when she gets her fur and old smell back…

  2. So glad she’s doing better!
    Dachshund Nola

  3. Bassas Blog says:

    I am so pleased that Fergus is on the mend. Wonderful photos!

  4. neri says:

    i do think it’s the medication smell that’s throwing George off. once she leaves her scent everywhere more, George will come around! Yay for Fergus wonderful progress!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks, I hope so. George has been in a fight this evening and has a couple of puncture wounds himself, so he might be smelling equally as vetty if they don’t heal over the next couple of days… that would set an even playing field!

  5. rumpydog says:

    Cats are social creatures. Ask the vet how to proceed. I would wait until Fergus is healed, and then let them get to know each other again. And don’t act afraid! Believe it or not, they react to you too!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Rumpydog. I think you’re right. I’ll probably be less concerned once she’s completely healed (or as completely healed as she will ever be)…

  6. Fluffy Tufts says:

    Sending gentle, healing thoughts to Fergus. Glad to see that she is getting out and about.

Leave a Reply

