Pet Blogger Challenge 2012

1. When did you begin your blog?
A: July 2011.

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?
A: A narcissistic belief that I have something interesting to say.  That, and I thought people might enjoy reading about what Flo gets up to and the journey of a first-time dog-owner.  I also thought it would be a good way to chronicle her life.

3. Is your current purpose the same?
A: Partially

If not, what’s different?
A: I still hope that people enjoy reading about Flo, but I have found that I’m not stumbling around in the dog-ownership area as much as I thought I might be so it’s more of a chronicle about her.  I’ve also found that others sometimes enjoy my weird sense of humour… I like making people smile and laugh… I hope Flo’s blog achieves that.  I’m much more interested in other people’s blogs.

If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals?
A: I think some people are smiling, and I do like looking back over some of the early posts to read what we were up to a few months ago.

4. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?
A: Schedule, mostly.

If the former, how often — and what techniques do you use to stick to it?
A: I try to blog on Saturday and Wednesday but sometimes I squish another post or two in when events warrant.

If the latter, do you worry about… well, whatever you might worry about (e.g. losing traffic, losing momentum)?
A: I actually do worry about breaking a routine when I post on a different day… what if nobody sees it?  It makes me think of the old ‘what if a tree falls in the wood and there’s nobody there to hear it’ thing.  Noooooooo!

5. Are you generating income from your blog?
A: Paaaaahaaaaaa!  No.

If so, how (e.g. sponsor ads, affiliate relationships, spokesperson opportunities)?

If not currently, do you hope to in the future — and how?
A: No.  I think that would turn something that’s quite enjoyable into a less enjoyable pursuit.

6. What do you like most about blogging in general and your blog in particular (bragging is good!)?
A: I’ve found a whole reservoir of knowledge that everyone is happy to share, I’ve met some very very intelligent, interesting and amusing people.  I like that my blog is generally easy going.

7. What do you like least?
A: I think my blog could be more varied and cerebral… I dig deep in other areas of life but I steer clear of any real depth in blogville.  Other bloggers are better at that.

8. How do you see your blog changing/growing in 2012?
A: Actually, I’m quite happy for it to go along as it is at the moment as I find my blogging feet.

Click on the link below to go to the Pet Blogger Challenge and join in.

Pet Blogger Challenge

This entry was posted in can't think of a category and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Pet Blogger Challenge 2012

  1. Flo is absolutely adorable! Having a chronicle of her early days is an excellent idea. I wish I’d done the same with Ty. Our memories fade with time, but a blog will be forever. Thanks for joining the challenge. It was a pleasure meeting you.

  2. Bongo says:

    This was fun to read because I learned a bit more about you through it.

  3. i, for one, am glad you’re not cerebral. [please don’t take that the wrong way!] now that Georgia is past her mad days and i’m no longer googling high and low for experts to tell me how to tame her, i’m less for cerebral and serious and much more into having a good giggle and seeing how other dogs live. you fit the bill pretty well, being the first dog [and cat] i know from the top end. keep up the fun work, Flo! 🙂 x

  4. dawn says:

    Welcome to blogging! You’re off to a great start. I wish I could get on a good schedule more so just to stay in the routine of writing. I’m getting there. Some of my favorite blogs are the ones that make laugh so I’ll be adding you to my blog reader.

  5. Higgins says:

    We started out blogs at the same time last year!! Nice to meet you and I look forward to reading more!!

  6. Tootsie says:

    Dear Fabulous Flo,

    You are fabulous! I think a chronicle blog is a super idea. I’ve enjoyed meeting you and look forward to reading more!

    Keep on wagging,
    Tootsie

  7. Nice to meet you and your very cute pup. Blogs are a fun way to keep a scrapbook of sorts about your pup and life.
    See ya in the blogosphere

  8. LizAnn says:

    I love reading about the history of your blog! I’m glad you started the chronicles of Flo… a lot of your posts are very cheeky and funny, and I love reading about her adventures! She is absolutely adorable! I like that you keep the focus on her too… she’s an interesting dog with a lot to say 🙂 Looking forward to her new postings in 2012!

    LizAnn

    All4UrPet Representative

    http://all4urpet.com/



    Check out the App store for Android and iPhone to download our mobile application! Simply search All4UrPet.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks… we did lose focus a bit there with Fergus… and it will happen again, but I’m okay with that! Fergus is part of the household fauna too.

  9. kenzohw says:

    Flo is such a beautiful pup. It is such a good idea to have a chronicle of your dog, we should have done that with Kenzo too.

    • Flo says:

      Thank you. A few people have mentioned that they had wished they had done that too. I WISH I had started it earlier – she was 9 months old before we got going.

  10. Stopping over from the blog hop…nice to meet you. Flo is very cute.

  11. Hi Y’all,

    Let me tell you, you humans tend to “over think” stuff…like blogging. I just like lookin’ back to my early days and seeing stuff I did. I like capturin’ those moments in time…when I’m old I can look back and remember when. If you “over think” you take the fun out of stuff.

    Sometimes I have something to say that I may feel important or reply to things people ask me, but for the most part it’s just those special moments.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  12. Edie says:

    Thanks for taking part in the challenge! I’d like to think my pushiness was at least partly responsible 😉

  13. Aud Egan says:

    Totally enjoyed your blog – Flo is awesome and so is Fergus! I’m a two dog and two cat parent, and we had a similar experience as you had with Fergus. My freebie mutt cat Max, at 3 years old, developed an almost fatal fascination with mexican blankets with fringe. Unbeknownst to me at the time, he was chewing on a blanket we had covering a crappy old chair in the basement. I spent days bringing him to the vet to be rehydrated and we ended up at Tufts Animal Hospital where they diagnosed him with major blockages due to the strings, he consumed. One of the vets told me that had I brought him in 20 minutes later, we’d have lost him. Happy ending to the story, I now am waiting for Tufts to send me the invitation to the ribbon cutting for the wing they are going to name after Mad Max the Mexican Blanket Eating Cat, where Max had a nice little stay-cation and is 100% cured and recovered from. Looking forward to enjoying your blog entries about both your critters! 🙂

    • Flo says:

      Thanks. I am SO pleased your little furry friend made a full recovery; what a sneaky little thing though, chewing away at stuff in secret. I have been amazed at how Fergus has come through this whole thing, even the vet was very grim about her chances. I am pleased to report that we were at the vet today with her and SHE DOESN’T HAVE TO GO BACK!!! That doesn’t mean I won’t be back at the vet’s again before the month is out but that is another story which will be blogged about on Saturday so stay tuned!

  14. Kim Clune says:

    Okay. You are so going in my Google Reader. I love your wit. Love… And I’m in love with your dog.

    My blog started as a chronicle too, by the way. We’ve taken various roads since, while often returning to that mode. It’s that daily life stuff that I think I enjoy most, on my blog and those I read. Looking forward to that here.

    • Flo says:

      Awww, thank you Kim. I checked in with your blog again earlier too – I hadn’t had a look since your 12 days of Christmas post last month – it’s sooooo interesting. I was very touched by your post about your grandmother and loved the photos! 🙂

  15. kate says:

    Flo is adorable, and your interview is very interesting. Thanks so much for visiting our site, its so nice with the blog hops to find other owners as nutty as I am about their pets

  16. Pup Fan says:

    Flo’s so freaking cute! Nice to meet you guys. 🙂

    I’ll be adding you to my reading list, and can’t wait to read more of your posts!

  17. Very nice to meet you via the hop, Flo is gorgeous! Frozen marrow bones are a favorite treat for me too!

  18. Bassas Blog says:

    You have a great blog and I love your “weird sense of humour” 🙂

  19. Pamela says:

    I started Something Wagging for a similar reason. I wanted to track life with Honey. But my wacky brain takes me into so many other directions.

    If you really look around the internet to see who’s making money you’ll find it’s folks providing sex, money, or laughs. So you’re on your way to fame.

  20. I wish that I had my blog my Kolchak was a puppy and when we first brought Felix home. It would be such a wonderful memory bank. I love hearing about other people’s lives with dogs and the things they do together. Sometimes it is so nice to get away to a fun blog that isn’t trying to invoke the wisdom of the world. Fun and frivolous is good too!

  21. Yay Pets says:

    Fun to learn more about your blog and Flo! I think you are great at it, and it is fun to read!

  22. Tegan says:

    You clearly have a good head on your shoulders to think that blogging about the experiences of a first time dog owner would be interesting. I think it’s an experience that perhaps all of us have wished we had documented, or even with individual dogs. I think you have a lovely blog here that you’ll cherish in the future in remembering the times of Flo (and perhaps any other pooch that graces your household).
    Happy blogging.

    • Flo says:

      Hahaha! Yes, we have been thinking that another dog may be in order… I’m slightly put off by the past few weeks’ events and associated vet bills, but Flo would looooove to have a full time companion and I think they would entertain each other.

  23. Loved your “tree falling and no one hears it” take … We Laughed!! In addition we understand. I know that we have held off posting for that very reason. Glad we found you!

  24. Colby says:

    I think blogging about the experiences of a first time blog owner is a great topic. Since our blog is about puppy training we receive tons of questions from first time puppy owners and I’m sure many of them would be interested reading about you and your journey with Flo.

    By the way, the picture of Flo in the heading is adorable. All the best to you, George, Fergus, and Flo in 2012!

    • Flo says:

      Thanks! It would be nice to think that someone out there might find it either useful or at least comforting to know that they’re not the only one who’s had their watering system pulled apart, one sprinkler at a time! I’ve only had a quick look at your blog as I’m STILL trying to get round all the ones who took part in the blogger challenge, but I will definitely be looking in on it! I am sure I will be one of those with questions!

      H

Leave a Reply

