Flo: WMD, armed and dangerous

A couple of months back, President Obama had a very close call when he visited Darwin, when he unwittingly came (stupidly) close to Flo and I, out for our evening walk.  We have established in previous posts that Flo is nothing short of a weapon of mass destruction.  Well, things have escalated.  She is now armed.  I warn you, this does not make pleasant reading.  The squeamish amongst you may wish to move on to a different blog.

The nose

It started on Sunday with a cough. I thought she’d somehow contracted kennel cough, even though she’s been innoculated and never been near a kennel.  By Monday she was coughing, snuffling, and snorting like a pig on a truffle hunt.  Or an old man trying to clear his nasal passages; choose the image you would prefer.  Sadly, she hasn’t found any truffles but quite frankly, right now I wouldn’t eat anything that’s been anywhere NEAR her nose.  By Tuesday the cough had gone, the snuffling and snorting remained, and (dramatic pause) enter the snot.  You know those kids who have number 11s running down from their noses… that’s Flo just now.  I took her to the v-e-t on Wednesday and he said her glands were very swollen but he didn’t think it was kennel cough.  So, she’s on antibiotics and all sorts again.  I am trying to resist the thought that she’s doing it on purpose – Wednesday was the last anti-biotic for Fergus in weeks and weeks.  And weeks.  We were going to be an anti-biotic free zone.  I was looking forward to Thursday; a day when I didn’t have to grab something by the scruff of the neck and push a pill down its throat.  Alas, my hopes have been dashed.  Thwarted.  We have another 10 day course for Her Fabulousness.  Five pills a day.

So, the medication started on Wednesday and so far, not much has changed.  Snot city.   She’s snuffling and sneezing away; you should see the snot that’s coming out of her ever so large and particularly gorgeous nose.  The nose that’s serving the same purpose as the barrel of a gun.  Thankfully she hasn’t had a snotty sneeze inside the house but she’s had plenty outside, which have resulted in snot missiles hurtling through the air at 100km/h before making contact with whatever surface, be it wall, floor, leg or foot, happens to break their flight path.  Perhaps there’s a role for her in Kandahar.

YUK.

Brewing a missile

This is a blog hop.  Click the link below to join in.  🙂

This entry was posted in dogs, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Flo: WMD, armed and dangerous

  1. Declan says:

    Ooh sounds lovely; you can’t beat a bit of snot. Fortunately (according to Mum) I’m not much of a snotter, but my mate Kai is a champ. Unfortunately he’s sometimes allowed to sit at the table at meal times… Mum is very cautious about the times she calls around these days. Hehe! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      I wouldn’t call Flo a snotter either, so just you wait… and with that snout of yours, it would be like a rifle shot. Rifle snot? Paahaa. I amuse myself.

  2. Jodi Stone says:

    Oh poor Flo and poor you!

    Interestingly enough Sampson has had Kennel Cough at least three times and he has never been kenelled. I know. The first time I was furious at the vet, how does he have this when he has been innoculated against it?

    The explanation I received was there was about 11 KNOWN variations of Kennel cough, the vaccine protects against four of them. I stopped vaccinating him for it, I don’t see the point.

    I hope Miss Flo feels better fast!

    • Flo says:

      I’m a bit over it to be honest. I hope she’s okay too – I was just listening to her whistling away there through her nose as she’s sleeping, it doesn’t sound like the medicine is doing her any good after 3 days. I’m thinking we’re going to be back at the v-e-t either tomorrow or Monday. 😦

  3. Bongo says:

    I love your very graphic descriptions. It was fun to read, even if it’s not fun for you and Flo.

  4. Oh lovely lol. Poor Flo, hope she feels better
    Dachshund Nola

  5. Bassas Blog says:

    Poor Flo 😦 I too am armed and dangerous. When I shake my head I can slobber over 15 feet. I don’t mean real feet – I mean distance 🙂 Get well soon Flo!

  6. Woof! Woof! Oh My … What a description. Sending FLO Golden Hugs.
    Happy BLOG HOP Weekend. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  7. Bassetmomma says:

    Poor Flo! Nothing worse than being all snotty faced! LOL! Hope she gets better soon!

  8. Sorry to hear about Flo and hoping she is okay. Sending positive thoughts your way! Hope you’re feeling better soon, Flo! 🙂

  9. Oh No, poor Flo! She’s flowing…he he he. Hope she gets better soon. Going back to the vet might be a good idea if no change after 3 days of flying snot!

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

    • Flo says:

      Heheh! She sure is flowing! I think she’s actually on the mend – not so many old man noises coming from her for the last couple of days!

Leave a Reply

