Mango Minster 2012

Well, here it is.  The Mango Minster 2012 photo.  Nothing like leaving it until the last minute. I had hummed and hawed about entering (I don’t know why…) but just found out that the last day is today.

I’m entering this in the ‘Bad Sport’ category.  This is the first time that Flo eviscerated a cushion so completely.  It certainly wasn’t the last.  It’s also not the most expensive cushion she’s sent to the wheelie bin.  However, it was the first.  And it was to teach me a lesson.  This particular morning I had wanted a lie in.  I hadn’t had a lie in since I’d got Flo.  So, as she ranked up the annoyingness of the ‘why can’t I go out’ I thought to myself… ‘well, why can’t she go out?  And be left unattended.  Without me.  Just her and the cats.  Why not??’  I let her out and went back to bed.  This destruction was carried out in complete silence, even the upturned potted fern.  It did teach me a lesson.  Sadly for Flo, the lesson wasn’t ‘I must be accompanied at all times by she who plays with me’ but was ‘I should’ve put those stupid cushions in the store room’.   It took a few more of these ‘little’ cushion de-stuffings and then the big, expensive one before I really learned the lesson though.  Sigh.

Look what George did!

There is also a certain symmetry posting this today – it was taken exactly 364 days ago.  There is no question that she would still do this to cushions if left alone with them.  But, since I did eventually learn my lesson, she has no access to such things!  Now she just drags furniture around downstairs if I DARE to attempt a lie in.

OK, this is my best Puss in Boots pathetic sorry look. What's that? I've got something stuck to my lip?

This entry was posted in dogs, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mango Minster 2012

  1. Jodi Stone says:

    I love the expression in the last photo. Sometimes I think Delilah does things intentionally too! I’m sorry you learned such an expensive lesson. :=(

  2. Mango says:

    Love the floof on your wee little lips.

  3. Uh oh! This is a perfect category!
    Dachshund Nola

  4. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA says:

    Hi, Flo! Nice to meet you. Looks like you picked the right category and submitted excellent documentation of your qualifications. And in case your mom thinks you’ll eventually outgrow this destructive ‘phase’: Abby is 8 years old and mama is still waiting for her to outgrow it. Best of luck in the competition.

    Jed & Abby

    • Flo says:

      Thank you! I’m using the power of positive thought and positive affirmations to help at the moment. ‘Flo will grow out of this phase. Flo will grow out of this phase. Flo will grow out of this phase’. Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera!

  5. pippadogblog says:

    I think that should be a winner. In fact both pictures are absolute winners.

    I used to raid rubbish bins and Misery used to have to put them out of reach. I didn’t eat anything, just tipped everything out 🙂 I can’t be bothered any more. Then there are dogs who eat shoes and flip-flops – can’t even remember if I did that.

    So, yeah, she will grow out of it – and putting things out of reach probably helps speed the process along because you forget to be naughty 😀

  6. Declan says:

    You know, I’ve never destuffed a cushion….. I’m more of a coffee table nibbler. Food for thought indeed. Hehe! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      Flo had her first nibble on the corner of the wooden coffee table downstairs last week – you didn’t put her up to it did you? She hasn’t even looked at it before. Wasn’t happy when I found that!

  7. Maggie Mae says:

    Hey there Flo,
    Max is my name and destuffing anything is my game too!
    I love the “who me??” look in these pictures. Best of luck in the contest.
    You have made my sister’s job as judge of this category even harder. 😉 Stop by for a visit!

    Your New Buddy,
    Max

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Max. I don’t envy your sister, there are some great entries aren’t there. I’ve been to your blog a few times. It’s great. 🙂

  8. Flo you are a very bad doggie. Mommy is thanking her lucky stars that Fenris doesn’t mind if she sleeps late he just patiently waits for her to decided to get up. Of course HE makes us DEMANDING cats look BAD, so if you ask US that was his plan all along. He comes off as an angel and Scylla comes off as an UNREASONABLE CAT.

  9. Flo, you have the cutest little face I am sure your Mom forgives you. ~Alasandra (aka The Mom)

  10. Bongo says:

    It looks like you may have to have your lie in outside where you can keep an eye on Flo. Bongo’s not allowed outside alone for a different reason. He learned he can jump the fence.

  11. Bassas Blog says:

    I am very familiar with cushion evisceration – I find it to be a useful revenge tool for being ignored! 🙂

  12. Torie says:

    Wow Ushi has never ripped up cushions lol! I bet that wasn’t a nice thing to come down to.
    She goes back to bed until i get up lol! Great entry! Torie and Ushi.

  13. Moose says:

    Uh oh, I bet you will give me a run for my money in this category! I have never eaten furnitures before. Plus i always let my mom sleep in, sometimes she has to make me get up! You sure are cute though!

  14. Oh Flo, you sure made a mess of those cushions. That look on your face though begs forgiveness! Good luck in MM2012.
    Smooches from pooches,
    BabyRD & Hootie

  15. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh my. The cushions. We have a new puppy and we will keep this post in the back of our minds for a long time to come. *shivers* Good luck with the MM contest.
    the brown dawgs

    • Flo says:

      HIDE THE CUSHIONS NOW! Bring them out again in 2 years. Your little pup looks adorable, BTW and therefore very fogivable, whatever may be destroyed.

      Thanks. 🙂

  16. Jen says:

    Oh Flo! I should of stopped by and saw your entry before we entered this category!
    Good one!
    Best of luck to you:))))

Leave a Reply

