Incontinentia Buttocks

I am getting very self conscious of having been at the v-e-t’s so often over the last 12 months.  The v-e-t could be forgiven for thinking that I have Munchausen Syndrome By Proxy, except that I neither have the bank balance to afford such an illness nor the wish to see my beloved animals sick.  Others could be forgiven for thinking that I fancied the v-e-t.  Alas, our v-e-t doesn’t look so much like Dr Chris of Channel 10’s ‘Bondi Vet’ fame [<cue choirs of angels> sigh],

This would be Dr Chris. Be still my middle-aged beating heart. Photo taken from Channel 10's website.

as he does Mr Burns of The Simpsons.

Mr Burns. No heart-fluttering going on here. This photo is from The Simpsons Channel

Fab’s skin wasn’t clearing up so we had another trip to our favourite v-e-t last week.  Whenever Flo has to have an anti-inflammatory of any description she I ends up with an incontinence ‘issue’ to deal with.  If she requires only an injection then its watery unpleasantness lasts for 3 days and then all is well again on leaky pipe front.  This time Flo had an injection and some oral anti inflammatories, which were to last for a few days, as well as anti-biotics.  Consequently we have rediscovered the joys of disinfectant wipes and the strategic placement of puppy pee pads while she was sleeping.  Hmphf.

George Brains decided that a pee pad would make for a good spot for a snooze.  I give up.

Anyway, the good news is that the drugs have done the trick and Flo’s skin is much better.   🙂

And now for something completely different…
Georgia Little Pea posted about a fluffy problem she was having in ‘The Tradesman and the Burglar Alarm‘. GLP, this one’s for you…  arthropod cleaning services.  To be honest, I think this particular arthropod wasn’t taking his job seriously and should’ve done another pass along the skirting board.  You just can’t get the help nowadays.

We are taking part in the Saturday Pet Blogger Blog Hop.  Click on the Link below to join in.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in dogs, Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Incontinentia Buttocks

  1. Bassas Blog says:

    Pleased to hear that Flo is feeling better – leaky pipes are not very pleasant!

    It looks like there is too much cleaning work for one arthropod – he needs help! 🙂

  2. Declan says:

    We have a v-e-t that looks like Mr burns too. He also wears a three piece suit at all times. How terribly British! Glad flow is feeling better Deccy x

  3. My Lord, you weren’t fibbing! Your cockies up north are way more industrious than ours. The ones here just roll over, scrabble and die. Useless creatures! Just as I was showing The Other Half your picture, one ran by. UGH. They’ve been out in hordes the last week. Summer’s finally here.

    Poor Flo. That’s a nasty reaction to the meds. I wonder if the weather has something to do with the dogs’ skin condition acting up as well. Today, Georgia got (possibly) bitten by something in the bushes. A little lump but she doesn’t seem to be affected otherwise. Keeping an eye on it!

    Bondi vet. Hah! Personally, I think he looks like a horse. I’m much more partial to my own Balmain vet lol

    • Flo says:

      Yeah, we’re having cockroach issues up here too, but that’s not really unusual – perfect climate at this time of year… that particular one was running around at 5.30am this morning. Ours don’t play Scrabble. I seized the day and took a photo. Memo to self: must call pest control boys. But I have to clean the house first. 🙂

      You leave poor Dr Chris alone. Wash your mouth out.

  4. Jodi Stone says:

    My heart stopped when I saw Dr. Chris, at first I thought he was your vet and I admit, jealousy came rearing up. 🙂

    On the fabulous one’s skin, have your tried giving her coconut oil in her food? My food lady tells me it is a good anti-inflammatory plus as well as helping with bacterias. It is also (at 6 american dollars a jar) much cheaper than a vet. 😉

    • Flo says:

      Paaahaaaa! That would explain all the visits!

      And thanks Jodi, I hadn’t heard about coconut oil being so useful. I’ve just begun to change Flo’s food to a raw diet to see if that strengthens her immune system – I’m fairly certain it’s not her food that’s causing it, it’s something environmental, but I thought it might help. I’ll try a bit of coconut oil as well.

      Dr Chris would def be worth at least $12. 🙂

  5. Bassetmomma says:

    Glad Flo is feeling a little less “leaky”! i love that picture of George!

  6. rumpydog says:

    Flo, I didn’t realize you had ‘issues.’ We are a house full of creatures with issues. Our vet’s staff knows Jen by the sound of her voice. *sigh*

    • Flo says:

      Hee hee. That’s funny Rumpy. I hope that none of your pack’s ‘issues’ are too serious. I hope that Flo’s issues are simply seasonal and when the grass seed has all gone it’ll settle back down. George’s ‘issues’ are long term but under control and hopefully Fergus won’t have any ongoing issues from her accident! I really am tired of going to the v-e-t!

  7. Hey Flo, Jet here. Sorry to hear about the pipes, glad you’re on the mend. Guess what? Shhhhh… you’re in our post tomorrow!

  8. Wow when I saw the first picture I thought it was your vet! Hahaha I guess we can both dream on!
    Dachshund Nola’s Mommy

  9. Pamela says:

    Poor Flo. It doesn’t feel very dignified to have your plumbing suddenly stop working properly. Although George doesn’t seem to worry about his dignity as he hangs out on the pee pads.

    I hope you can get Flo’s system into good shape. Allergies are very tough to deal with.

  10. Bongo says:

    Glad Flo’s skin is better, but I hope your vet doesn’t see what you think of his appearance.

Leave a Reply

