Flo’s Noms

Firstly, apologies…
Time to do a bit of catching up and apologise to Jet and Just Ramblin for taking so long to get on to it.

Firstly, thank you to the wonderful Jet for giving us the Lovely Blog award.  Check out Jet’s blog here, there’s loads going on over there.  It’s great fun.  Jet’s a smart (and devastatingly handsome) dog! The Lovely Blog awards should be distributed to 15 other blogs – we’ve got a few awards to distribute, but I’m saving them up and will do that at the end of the year in one post if that’s okay J.  My brain is full at the moment and it’s taking way more power than it should just to come up with the regular posts!

Also, thank you very much to Just Ramblin Pier for their Creative Award.  It’s lovely to know that someone enjoys some of the photos that I put up. 🙂

Flo’s Diet
As many of you know, I recently changed Flo’s diet to a mixture of both raw and biscuits.  Before I even got her, I’d planned to keep her on puppy biscuits until she was 2 and then switch her over to a raw diet.  The decision was made for a couple of reasons (and they’re not meant to be ‘holier-than-thou’): the first is that I intuitively feel that raw/unprocessed food is better for a species whose digestive system has evolved with such a diet; and secondly, I wouldn’t buy food for myself if I couldn’t find out what was in it, and it isn’t easy to find out all the stuff that is in animal food.  The fewer steps it’s had to go through to get to the bowl, the better.  Pet food isn’t governed by the same standards as human-grade food, so there is no need for ingredient lists.  A third reason shoved me to implement the new diet sooner than I had planned, and that was Flo’s skin allergy.  As Flo’s allergy became apparent in her second year of life, I read up more and more about animal allergies and many are connected to things that are in their foods.  A change in diet can often make a big difference to a dog’s skin health.  As it happens, the new diet doesn’t seem to have made any difference in that respect and as time has gone on I’ve become more convinced that the allergy is caused by grass seeds rather than anything she’s ingesting. So, she’s on a raw diet AND she’s overwashed.  Actually, the benefit of her having a sore leg at the moment is that she is not overwashed – since I can’t take her walking it means we don’t visit the grassy areas so she doesn’t need to be thoroughly hosed down and medicated at the moment.  Hurrah!

Nom nom nom

For the last little while I’ve been keeping a diary of what I’ve fed her, mainly so that I can make sure I’m not missing anything out that she might need.  She starts each day with a cup of puppy biscuits.  Then, across the course of a couple of weeks she gets roughly the following:
Scarily big drumsticks or meaty bone once to twice a week;
minced meat (lamb, chicken, turkey or beef) or pet mince (from the butcher – this includes ground up bones) 3 to 4 times a week;
fish (sardines or tuna) once to twice a week.

These are accompanied by:
lamb or chicken liver, heart or kidney;
chicken necks;
turkey wings;
beef tail;
egg (+ shell sometimes);
lactose-free yoghurt.

She also gets Omega oils and coconut oil, as well as glucosamine tablets.

Treats include things like marrow bones, piggy ears, Dentasticks, liver jerky, roo chews, beef jerky, beef tendons.  Other than the Dentasticks, most of her treats are just dried meat or rawhide in one form or another.

Here we have beef pizzle (sorry boys, it’s THAT part of the bull), beef tendon, roo sticks and a piggy ear. Mmmmm.

I have chosen not to give her any vegetables in her diet but I know that many people do.  I haven’t come to a conclusion yet about whether or not they are necessary.

Fergus settled in one of her fave spots

And finally…. we’ve been back to the v-e-t this week with Fergus.  She’s had diarrhoea for a couple of weeks and it’s just not clearing up.  Thankfully, the v-e-t doesn’t think it’s anything to do with being run over (I’m still not convinced).  He gave her the usual injections, some anti-protozoan pills and some anti-diarrhoea liquid.  Unfortunately, the injections and pills haven’t made any difference and the anti-diarrhoea liquid makes her salivate and then throw up, so I’ve stopped giving her that.  I’ve used the same stuff on George before and it doesn’t have that effect on him.  The long and short of it is that we’re going to have to go back this week.  The v-e-t was otherwise happy with her, she’s chirpy enough and is in good condition so fingers crossed we can find out what the problem is.  😦  Poor Fergie.  And NO, before you say it, I don’t think it’s got anything to do with her foot fetish.

We’re taking part in the Saturday Pet Blogger Hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click below to join in.  🙂

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in awards, Food, Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Flo’s Noms

  1. Starting at the end with Fergus. I did once have a cat with seemingly endless diarrhea and what ended up working best was giving him boiled chicken and rice for a while.

    Very interesting to read about Flo’s diet. It really all does depend on where one is and what the dog needs.I feed Tommy a combination of the best available kibble (the kind that does come with a full ingredient list!) and home-cooked food mixed in (beef, pork, chicken, or fish, mixed with rice, carrots and peas), He seems to do well by it, but he has no allergies that I know of.

    • Flo says:

      Yup, you have to do what fits. We only have 3 different pet shops here so there isn’t scope to shop around lots of different brands.

      I’m going to give the boiled chicken and rice a whirl with Fergus… it’s worked before for Flo.

  2. Declan Greyhound says:

    You have made me think I need to be braver with Dec. He had a very bad infection in in his gut a few months ago and it took forever to clear and for ages the poor bug*er had nothing but his regular kibble as we were pretty confident that didn’t have any adverse effects. Prior to that he had a lot of pigs liver and various other stuff though I did cook it. I guess I’m just a bit scared now to give him some stuff, and I know it’s ridiculous but raw meat seems scarier than cooked! The raw idea all makes sense, so I’d like to introduce some stuff. Deccy’s Mum x

    • Flo says:

      You have to be a bit careful, especially if Deccy has a delicate tum. You could start him off on something fairly gentle like adding a bit of turkey mince to his diet. Things like liver are really rich so I tend to go easy on them – I never give dainty little Flo any more than about 3 chicken livers at the most alongside something less rich – perhaps she could take a few more but I err on the side of caution. I don’t cook anything I give her mainly because I’m lazy a busy working person with very little spare time. If I did give her veggies then I’d probably cook them up first. On the other hand, I do freeze the bones I give her… though that might not be such an attractive option for Deccy in an English winter. Or summer, for that matter. 🙂 I haven’t been brave enough to take Flo off the biccies altogether – too scared that I might be missing something from her diet!

  3. Declan Greyhound says:

    How rude of us! Just realised we forgot to say hope Fergus is okay… please give her a hug and accept Good Greyhound Vibes! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      🙂 Fergus is alright, the litter box is taking a bit of a hammering though! We understand the magnitude of such wishes coming from a Greyhound!

  4. fromsophiesview says:

    Now that’s food I can handle…Flo must feel extra special and healthy with all these choices! I head to the vet on Monday morn..needles and such..probably sleeping the afternoon away..Cheers!

  5. rumpydog says:

    Poor Fergus can’t seem to catch a break! Now, how about sharing one of those pig ears with your buddy Rumpy?

  6. Hey Flo, Jet here.

    No worries, good news comes when it’s meant to… glad you know how much we appreciate you. 🙂

    Thank you for the link to Dr. Rayya, we read her, too, however, we were not part of the blogging community at the time of that post. She really helped us further understand what happened with JJ. We cannot express how grateful we are to the pet blogging community for helping our family so much. 🙂

    Sorry to hear about Fergus… we wish him the most comfortable and speedy improvement. 🙂

    Mom thinks your logic for Flo’s food is appropriate. Mom and my human sister have food sensitivities and Mom used the elimination, rebuild method to try out each ingredient over the years. We prefer items we understand, too.

  7. Jen says:

    I’m glad you’ve figured out a food strategy that works well for Flo!

    I’ve never heard of roo chews before. It’s funny, the dried animal parts that we’re willing to get for our dogs! I have some beef trachea for Elka, I’m sure she’ll be delighted.

  8. Paws To Talk says:

    Congratulations on your awards. We’re glad Flo’s new diet is going well.
    Bella and DiDi

  9. Jodi Stone says:

    Congratulations on your awards!! It is so wonderful to be recognized by other bloggers.

    Please, what are puppy biscuits? As you may know S & D are raw fed and I think they are much happier, lord knows they lost a lot of weight and look and feel great.

    Most of their treats are either carrots, grain free biscuits or stuffed kongs. I try and keep their rawhides and chewies to a minimum, but that’s the way I prefer it. 🙂 Oh and their mixed meat comes with veggies included.

    • Flo says:

      Thank you. 🙂

      The puppy biscuits are just dog biscuits (kibble) but a puppy formula. My original plan was to keep her on that until she was 2 but because of her skin moved over to raw a bit sooner. I still worry that I may be missing something from her diet, so the biccies are a bit like a crutch until I’m brave enough to trust myself with her entire diet!

Leave a Reply

