The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure-All?

This week I’ve been holding out great hope for Flo’s dodgy leg/shoulder.  Yes, it’s still a problem, and no, it’s not getting any better.  The last time I had her out for a walk she leapt over a fallen tree and now she’s limping worse than ever.  Grrr.  Shouldn’t have let her off the lead. I battle constantly with whether to take her for a walk at all but she gets so naughty when she has to hang out in the garden.  Three times in the last fortnight she’s run away down the road and ’round the corner when I’ve opened the gate to drive up the driveway.  And will she come back when she’s called?  Of course not.  “Flo?  Who’s that?”  Hmmm.

So, I’ve been back to my old mate Google, looking for things that I might be able to do to ease it.  Apparently I’ve been hiding under a rock since I got Flo.  I have spent hours surfing the net looking for things that might assist relieve her stiff shoulder.  A few days ago, while trolling around various sites I came across one which mentioned apple cider vinegar.  Now, having looked further into this, it does smack of some of the remedies that I used to see for sale in the herbalist and chemist’s in Hong Kong when I lived there; one small brown bottle of strange, often foul-smelling liquid would claim to cure everything from a boil on the bum to pneumonia, and everything in between.  Anyway, as I say, I’ve just discovered this cure-all, but I’m taking the vinegar with a pinch of salt.  Apparently it can be used as an anti-flea wash (which is applied and rinsed out before a normal shampoo session).  It can be used to soak a compress to relieve bruising and swelling.  It can be used as an antiseptic on the skin.  Never mind all that… it can also be used to help joint issues such as arthritis.  The only side effect that I’ve found people noting is that it can make your dog vomit, and you’ve got to be careful if your dog has an over acidic stomach.  So, I thought I’d give it a whirl.  I started off by putting a teaspoonful in her water bowl, but given that she’s not a big drinker (she’s not that kind of girl) I added a teaspoonful to some lactose free milk in the morning, which she lapped up.  I also mixed another teaspoon in with some lactose free yoghurt which I put on her food the first evening.  She’s not drinking the water with the vinegar in it preferring to drink from her bowl upstairs, so that’s not a hit.  However, since she’s enjoying milk each morning, and she doesn’t seem to be suffering any ill effects, I’ve upped the dose to a tablespoon which is delivered via the milk route.  We’ll see how she goes and I’ll keep you all posted if there is any miraculous improvement.  I’m reluctant to take her back to the v-e-t because they’ve pretty much done all that they can and their only options seem to be to give her an anti-inflammatory injection, which, as we know, leads to messed up plumbing which then leads to the appearance of pee-pads.  Given that we have a baby crawling around the house at the moment, I’m not sure I want to go down that road.  So, we’re trying the vinegar – I’m willing to give anything a shot at this point.  Having said that, I’ve got her booked in at the v-e-t on Monday morning!  I figured he’d be missing us; it’s been at least 3 weeks since our last visit, possibly longer.

If you’re not going to take me for a walk then I shall lie on the rug. Without a ‘Flo mat’. Try and move me and the itsy bitsy shoe gets it.

Just one more thing about the ACV; it is supposed to put an end to tear staining and pee-burnt lawns.  Is there nothing that this stuff can’t cure??

If you’ve used ACV before either on yourself or your animals, I’d love to hear how you got on and whether or not you found it a success.  I’m interested to know other people’s experiences.

OH!  And I nearly forgot (am adding this after I published…) it’s our first year blogging anniversary today.  I can’t believe a whole year has gone by already.  We’ve found so many great blogging pals out there, many of whom make us roar with laughter, which, as you know, is good for the soul.  So thank you, thank you, thank you bloggy friends for feeding our souls.  You really lighten our day!

We’re taking part in the Saturday Pet Blog Hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click the link to join in.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in dogs, Food, Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure-All?

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    Happy one year blogiversary! I’ve never taken apple cider vinegar as a curative as yet, but the doctor who wrote Vermont Folk Medicine claims that it’s helped people recover from salmonella much faster. He recommends that people who travel or dine out frequently take a tablespoon in 8 oz of water (I think that’s the ratio) to prevent food-borne illnesses. Can’t hurt to try!

    Regarding arthritis, I’ve heard that good oils can help the joints, but I never heard of ACV doing the same thing. You never know though!

  2. Happy Blogaversary! We are delighted to have met you!

    As for ACV, we believe you! Actually, we live in a part of France where there is a lot of ACV produced locally, so everyone swears by it.

  3. Happy anniversary Ms Blogger! Only one! You’re still so young!

    ACV is fantastic stuff! I’ve used it as a last rinse in the dog bath. Along with oatmeal and salt, it’s supposed to also soothe itchy skin. (Flo might find that useful!)

    Like other vinegars, it’s great for cleaning too. When Rufus was incontinent all the time, I used it (diluted) to mop the floor because I didn’t want to keep using a commercial chemical product.

    I’ve also added it to water before though not recently. Neither Rufus nor Georgia would have drunk enough that way so I added a teaspoon to their breakfast. They didn’t seem to mind it. The food all got eaten as usual.

    This post has been a great reminder for me. I should start giving it to G again, and maybe take some myself too. I could do with a little less joint pain!

    Do our dogs seem to be following the same sickie path? 😦 Georgia is still tentative about jumping and has even learnt to slide down the bed! I’m very grateful she’s not in a hurry to test her neck/leg!

    More natural remedies I’ve tried with Rufus for his inflammation, arthritic/joint pain… acupuncture, massage, green lip mussel powder, celery, slippery elm, flaxseed oil. It’s hard to say if anything worked and how well since I used a combination of stuff. I know none of them were harmful though 🙂

    • Flo says:

      Thank you for those other natural remedy suggestions. You mentioned massage before and I try that with Fab, but it’s a tricky area – her shoulder blades are enormous and I’m not sure exactly where the injury lies, but suspect it’s underneath somewhere. She certainly doesn’t complain about being massaged though, so we’re keeping that up! I’ve also got her some omega 3s which have flaxseed oil in with them. I want to try her on green lip mussel powder and slippery elm – did you just buy them at a health food shop? As for the vinegar, I can’t believe that it’s eluded me until now – it seems to have so many benefits! It certainly doesn’t seem to be doing her any harm but I’m not noticing any improvement in her mobility yet. 😦 Will persevere though.

      • Yes, from a health food shop. I give Georgia 1 level tsp. She’s about 48kgs. This is my maintenance level dosage and not a loading dose. Best to check with vet!

        I reckon any kind of massage in the area would be beneficial, even if it’s just to relax the muscles and get the blood moving. It’s good to work the joints too. Who knows, it could be a rotator cuff problem (the doggy version of it!) You should know heaps about animal anatomy, no?

      • Flo says:

        Yeah, primates, cheetas, crocs, howler monkey voice boxes… dogs; not so good there! Thanks 🙂

  4. rumpydog says:

    Bummer! I had no idea Flo was having such problems. Take care you guys! And, I I dunno about the bath, but I have heard that putting a small amount of vinegar in a dog’s water bowl will repel fleas, so the bath should work.

  5. Howdy Flo, sorry to hear about your shoulder. Hope the ACV works for you. Happy Anniversary to you. We checked back on a couple of posts, are you getting a new puppy? How cool. See ya soon. No worries, and love, Stella and Rory

  6. I haven’t used it consistently but my friend insists that it will cure anything in humans.

    • Flo says:

      Yes, since I’ve mentioned that I’m giving it to Flo other people have remarked on people they know who take a teaspoon every day. How have I not known this before??!! 🙂

  7. Bassas Blog says:

    Congratulations on your first year of blogging! Poor Flo, I do hope the vinegar helps x

  8. Hey Flo, Jet here. Hi Miss H.

    What a milestone, congrats! Have you tried acupuncture? massage?

    Mom asked me to share that she’s used ACV for many a thing and read the incredible list of virtues. She tried with athletes foot; helpful, not curative. She cooks with it and uses it in salad dressings sometimes, as ACV is not as strong as other vinegars.

    • Flo says:

      Hey Jet.

      We’re trying massage but it’s only me that’s doing it, and we’re seriously considering acupuncture. I’m not sure if there is anyone who does acupuncture on pets up here though…

      I didn’t know that ACV wasn’t as strong as other vinegars. Really hoping that it works or at least has some effect along with all the other things we’re doing. Sigh.

      • Hey Flo,

        Mom also believes in exhausting natural remedies… wonder if there are any safe homeopathics?

      • Flo says:

        We’re trying a few things. It’s hard though, there’s a lot of stuff that simply isn’t available where we live. This morning the v-e-t gave her an injection of cartophen (or something, don’t have my bit of paper in front of me), which she’s had before but we’re giving it another whirl.

  9. Bassetmomma says:

    I’m so sorry Flo is having these issues. We take 1 tsp. of apple cider vinegar in warm water every morning. It’s supposed to help your immune system and we do find we get less colds/flu etc. It also helps stop diarrhea. This I do know works! For arthritis we’ve always given 1 tsp. of olive oil or I use Udo’s omega 3-6-9 oil and that’s what I gave my late basset Barney and it seemed to have worked. You can get it at the health food store.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks for the tips Bm

      I’ve got her on Omegas, coconut oil and glucosamine as well. I’m hoping that given time it will all help to strengthen her system generally. I didn’t know it was good for diarrhoea… always good to have cures for that particular problem!

      H

  10. Jodi Stone says:

    I’ve heard good things about ACV too, but it has a terrible taste!! I took a spoonful once and it was horrible!! But if Flo is not minding it and it will help her I say it is way better than any chemical combination the V-E-T would give her. 🙂

    Congrats on your one year blogoversary, it feels good doesn’t it? 🙂

  11. Rose from Oz says:

    Hi H & Flo, My other half is a horse/dog/cattle man/bush man from waaaaay back. We have a magnetic therapy machine which we use on ourselves and the Team if its needed for any joint/muscle injury. The machine we have is no longer available. We originally scored it from a greyhound fellow who SWORE by it for the dogs. Other half says perhaps its worth a try to maybe get one of those BIG magnets, bed mat things?? He has sheepskin infused with huge magnets and swears by it for his neck injury.
    PS the ACV works a treat for stings and bites on the dogs.

    • Flo says:

      Thanks Rose – I hadn’t thought about magnets at all. I haven’t seen any magnetic sheepskin thingies here, though I think I know what you mean, I’m sure I saw them in UK once. We’re throwing lots of things at the leg (not literally, obviously) at the moment and I’ve just found a vet who does acupuncture too. I’m going to give the injections a chance to work first though. Along with the ACV. And the green-lipped mussel powder. And the omega 3s. Oh, and the coconut oil. 🙂

Leave a Reply

