Getting Ready For Elsie

Elsie arrives in just a few short days so today we’ve been getting everything organised so that we’re all set to go.

Flo’s litter was born with absolute perfect timing and she was ready to come to her new home on the first day of a five week holiday for me.  Unfortunately, Elsie’s litter couldn’t have arrived at a worse time so I only have a long weekend to spend with her before I have to head back to work.  This means that my preparations are a little different in that I’m having to be a bit better with a ‘long term confinement’ pen (per Dr Dunbar!).  With Flo, she wasn’t out of my sight for the first week, during which time I had her in the pool so she could find out where the steps were, and when she fell in the pond I was right there to reach in an yank her out; when the time came to leave Flo alone in the garden for the first time, I was fairly comfortable.  Elsie is going to have to be confined while I’m at work.  Thankfully, ridgebacks grow at an almost alarming rate, so it won’t be long until I’m happy that she can’t fit through the bars of the fence to the pool area, and her legs will be long enough that she can stand with her head above water in the pond were she to fall in.   I do have some mesh which I can use to put around the pond if necessary.

Putting down the tarp

George checks beneath the tarp in his supervisory role

You can never have too many supervisors

Pen up

Water bowl, Kongs, treats, blankets and collar

Flo eyes off the new toys in the crate…

“What do you mean it’s not for me?  Everything’s for me isn’t it? What?  Really?”

Lions for Elsie to practice her hunting skills

This supervisory thing is exhausting!

While I’m feeling more in control of bringing a puppy home this time around, I know that it’s going to be a whole different ball game.  Things that I didn’t have to worry about last time I’m going to have to be really strict with this time; I’m going to have to get her into that pen on day one and start to get her used to being in there so that she’s settled on her own until it’s safe to let her out into the garden.  Flo never took to the ‘long-term confinement’ idea and it wasn’t such a big deal, so I didn’t really persevere with the whole thing.  Perhaps if I’d started her off early enough then she might’ve been better.  I hope that having Flo and George around will be enough company, albeit through the bars of her pen.  Of course, who’s to say if Flo will lie on her bed upstairs near Elsie – she may well retreat downstairs…  This time around I’m going to have to come home during my lunch times to check on Elsie or have friends pop over to check on her.  I’m also going to have to be a lot more regimented in getting her up during the night to take her out to ensure that my body clock can get some sort of sustainable routine otherwise I’ll be useless during the day at work.  Yup, things are going to be different this time…

We’re taking part in the Saturday Pet Blogger hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click on the link below to join in.

This entry was posted in cats, dogs, pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Getting Ready For Elsie

  1. Declan Greyhound says:

    Spoiled?? Nah!!! We were just wondering when you are going to get a third one called Mable. Then you can walk them and sound like you’re on an outing from the local old folks home…. “Flo don’t do that to Elsie…” Mable you can’t have a wee there…” Just a thought….. hehe! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      OMG! Would you believe my shortlist of names was… Mabel, Elsie, Aggie or Effie. Honestly. Mabel was my fave but I still couldn’t imagine calling that on the beach!

  2. Elsie’s the name of a cow isn’t it? Actually, for some godforsaken reason, my godfather used to call me that as a child and it’s NOT my name!!! Looking at the puppy cot and toys is making me clucky. I shall resist and desist though. Is that the right phrase I’m using? Poor Flo isn’t going to know what hit her!

    Swimming’s on! 🙂

    • Flo says:

      I’m sure there’s a cow somewhere called Elsie… I’m not sure it’s a name I’d inflict on a child nowadays though. 🙂

      I think it’s ‘cease and desist’ so it must be resist and something else!

  3. Tee Hee Hee… We can see from the title that she’s already turned your life upside down…!

  4. Oh she is too cute! I could never do the long term confinement with Nola; she pushed the bars of the pen wide enough to fit through. Then she learned how to lift it so she could slide under it
    Nola’s Mom

  5. Good Luck with puppyhood:) How exciting!

  6. There is nothing in the world like puppy-breath. Good luck with all the preparations. Such an exciting time too.
    Lotsaluv
    MAXMOM IN SA

  7. Jodi Stone says:

    Oh I hadn’t realized it was time already and you’ve already picked her and her name out!! How is Flo taking it all? She still has no clue does she? LOL I know you must be nervous but if you can check in at lunch or have friends check in, she should be fine. As long as the divine one cannot release her from the pen.;-)

    • Flo says:

      Ha ha! That’s EXACTLY my fear. I’m just about to phone the people who come to empty the garden rubbish bag to warn them that they’d better watch out for a little puppy in the garden and to please close the gate… just in case!

  8. Rayya says:

    You are super well prepared. It is always great to have a good game plan when adding a new puppy to the family. Flo is going to enjoy having Elsie. George is just going to be terrific at his supervisory role :-)….Can’t wait to see all the pictures of your new baby especially once she is all settled in and close to Flo & George.

Leave a Reply

