Attentive Owner Fail

From day 1 I’ve been consistent with taking the ADHD puppy Elsie downstairs to wee on the grass and she’s been doing really well, but she is generally a live wire and much less calm than Miss Perfect Flo – she has been more prone to unfortunate indoor incidents than her big sister ever was.

On Monday evening, she was having her usual ‘tear around the livingroom’ hour late at night and stopped about 4 times to pee.  No soft furnishings were spared.  She was so quick, it wasn’t as though I could even have caught her as she began to squat… it was a swift sniff-to-pee move on her part.  I did notice that the last 2 didn’t involve more than a few drops.  Anyway, each time I did the urgent ‘outside for wees’ and took her down to the grass where she looked at me like I was an idiot and dashed straight upstairs.  She’s also been weeing out on the verandah at an alarming rate, not even trying to go downstairs.  AND in the last few days she’s been going on the concrete under the house rather than just on the grass.  I have to admit, I was getting completely exasperated, frustrated and many other ateds.

On Tuesday it was puppy pre-school.  During the first week’s class she weed once.  The second week she didn’t wee at all.  On Tuesday, before we left home, I put her on the grass and gave the command, which she knows and reacts to well.  Nothing.  Tried again.  Nothing.  So, off we went to the class.  Within five minutes of arriving there’s a puddle on her training mat.  She did three more in the space of the hour class and it was on the last one that I noticed spots of blood.  On the way home a dreadful smell eminated from the back seat so I pulled over, got a poo bag and got ready to try to clean up as best I could, however, when I got back there there was nothing to see.  The poor little thing has some sort of bladder or urinary tract infection.  😦  We’ve got antibiotics from the v-e-t and she’s had an anti-inflammatory shot as well but apparently it can take a while for these to kick in and start to work.

On reflection, the change in behaviour together with the increased frequency of weeing was a bit of a sign wasn’t it!  Owner of the Year Award… maybe not this year. I feel terrible for putting it down to her general over-exuberence instead of noticing the obvious.  I think she’s a bit better since starting the anti-biotics; even though she’s had two accidents in the house there weren’t as many puddles out on the verandah today and I didn’t notice any awful smell so fingers crossed that she’s on the mend and we can get more than 2 hours sleep at a stretch!

It hasn’t slowed her down though…

This is a blog hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click on the link to join in!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in dogs, Health, pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Attentive Owner Fail

  1. Jen says:

    Poor pup…at least you got to the bottom of it! We’d all love to be perfect but….it doesn’t really happen that way. The pictures of her are great!

  2. g2-181676a647fc89e55aedc3f4eed1e54c says:

    Few things make us feel as guilty as realizing that there is a physical problem for our dog’s behavior.

  3. Gosh, isn’t Elsie keeping you in your toes! I’m glad she’s not peeing in the house and verandah just to spite you but poor baby to have an infection. That must have been a panicky moment. I see Fab has been re-named LOL.

    Happy Spring btw!I know the weather is always glorious up your end but my! What a wonder ours has been. Can you see the smile on my face? I love surviving winter 🙂 X

    • Flo says:

      Ha ha yes. The BOM will have no doubt noticed the date and so now our forecasts will go from ’33 degrees and sunny’ to ’35 degrees with the chance of an afternoon shower’. Even though there’s absolutely ‘nae’ chance of an afternoon shower. God forbid they look out the window. Actually, I think they might hang the calendar in front of the window. 🙂 Congratulations on pulling yourselves through another winter! Enjoy your lovely spring sunshine!

  4. Rose says:

    Just ADORE that action shot of Elsie! The poor little mite, sure hope she’s well and truly on the mend now. (My Jack was ‘overactive’ as a tot, thought it would never end. It kinda did, after about 3 years!)
    Dear Flo, she just looks so patient and kind 🙂

    • Flo says:

      She has the patience of a saint. I don’t know how I would’ve coped without her because she takes on a huge amount of the entertaining and energy burning burden! I won’t tell her she’s to keep it up for another 3 years if you don’t!

  5. Howdy All, thank goodness you realised there was something wrong and paws crossed Elsie will continue on with her toilet training with good results. She certainly is a live wire, quite a lot like our Stella. We love your photos. They are fabulous. Hope your weekend is going great. No worries, and love, Carol (and Stella and Rory)

  6. dachshundnola says:

    Poor baby! I think noticing the symptoms of a UTI in a new puppy is next to impossible! Nola got one 4 days after her spay (when she was 6 months old and house broken), it was so horrible! Hope Elsie is doing better
    Nola’s Mom

  7. Don’t be too hard on yourself! Mostly, puppies are just puppies, and one tends to see that in everything they do. It sounds like you caught the problem fairly quickly and we’re very glad she’s on the mend.

  8. Declan Greyhound says:

    Ah poor little girl. Still at least you’ve got it sorted. We’ve had similar issues with KC… she gets cystitis and when that happens she trys to wee everywhere. Our vet recommended a regular dose of glucosamine for general bladder / urinary tract health in both cats and dogs. Seems to help KC and Dec takes it anyway.

    • Flo says:

      I didn’t know that glucosamine was good for that as well… Flo’s on glucosamine tablets (beef; mmmmm), so we have them in the house already.

  9. Anna says:

    The whole time I was reading this I was saying to myself “She prolly has a UTI.” Whoops, glad you caught it though. Now you know more of what to look for even with her. I took Luna pee in probably 4 times since I have had her checking for a UTI and she never had one. Wish I knew how to look at pee under a microscope myself so I could screen it first and save my 40 bucks.

    Hope she heals quickly, sounds like she is already doing better. Don’t beat yourself up too much, happens to us all. I’d imagine there are quite a few things she’ll teach you as she is so different than your first.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • Flo says:

      Thanks. I’m not really beating myself up, I’m just annoyed with myself that I was so exasperated, but that was lack of sleep as much as anything!

  10. Prudence says:

    What great pictures! Hopefully Elsie will improve once the antibiotics take care of the problem!

  11. 2browndawgs says:

    I don’t think you are an inattentive owner. Puppy girls seem more prone to UTI’s but I doubt most people know that. We gave Storm cranberry pill supplements until her first season to help guard against them. Love the pictures!

    • Flo says:

      I have been thinking about getting some cranberry juice for her… Flo has never been troubled by a UTI so I hadn’t really given it any consideration.

  12. Jodi Stone says:

    Poor little puddin! Delilah had a UTI when she went in to be spayed, if I hadn’t had her tested I would never have known. The good news is you had it diagnosed and she is on the mend. 🙂

    • Flo says:

      She slept from about 11.30pm until just after 6 this morning… I feel like a new person and she must be on the mend! It might have been because I put the air con on last night too – it’s warming up a bit here and I think that was making her a bit uncomfortable during the night.

  13. Bassas Blog says:

    Oh dear, I hope Elsie gets better soon and gives your soft furnishings a respite! Great pictures – especially the last one!

Leave a Reply

