Sometimes A Post Just Lands At Your Feet: Elsie -v- Croc

I didn’t have a post ready for today.  I wasn’t bothered.  I was going to leave it.

Then, an hour ago, I found Elsie eating this outside on her bed.

In the absence of lions….

In case you’re wondering what it is, it’s what’s left of a saltwater crocodile.  I have no idea how it got into my garden but it’s in my freezer now.  You know the most ridiculous thing of all?  I was relieved when I realised what she was chewing was a crocodile and not a cane toad.

This is part of a Blog Hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click on the link to join in.

This entry was posted in Darwin, Northern Territory, Ridgeback behaviour, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sometimes A Post Just Lands At Your Feet: Elsie -v- Croc

  1. Dawn says:

    Okay. I am so glad the dogs finding rabbits and birds. I can’t imagine what my neighbors would think after hearing whatever would come out of my mouth after finding that.

  2. Jen says:

    Holy smokes, right down to the spine!

    In your freezer? You going to make crocodile soup? 😉

  3. You are one crazy and brave doggy! Happy blog hoppin’ Saturday to you.

  4. Bassas Blog says:

    Yuk! It looks like something from one of the Alien movies.

  5. A saltie? Are you kidding me?!!! I assume it’s a baby or this post might have turned out *ahem* a little differently. You think Elsie is going to be Trouble when she grows up? LOL.

    • Flo says:

      Elsie’s already trouble. I think it might have been one of last year’s hatchos, so about 18months. It’s hard to tell because there’s not much left, but judging by the size of the head I reckon the whole thing would’ve measured about 35-40cm! When they hatch out (at the beginning of the year) they’re 30cm long. I can’t remember how quickly hatchos grow in the wild but generally crocs don’t grow very fast, so I’m plumping for a couple of years. I’ll ask Grahame (Webb) next time I see him!

  6. paws2smile says:

    Eeeeeeek! Holy crap! Haha it’s amazing what they find

  7. Hawk aka BrownDog says:

    Hi Y’all!

    Just wanted to hop on by and see how y’all are doin’. Hope y’all have a wonderful and safe weekend!

    Oh dear…the crocs I get to see are “grown” and scary!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  8. Rose says:

    Oh wow oh boy – what a shock for you.
    But I really,really know what you mean about glad it was a young croc she was chewing and not a cane toad. We used to have to train our dogs when I was living in Townsville in another life time. Death by cane toad is horrendous.

    • Flo says:

      I’d love to know how you trained them Rose… I’ve found Flo playing with dead ones (which doesn’t worry me SO much because I know their poison has a short half life) but I really worry about them (particularly Elsie because she’s so little) finding a live one… I’ve found about 3 biggies over the last 6 weeks which I sprayed with HOPSTOP and removed once they’d died. 😦

      • Rose says:

        The dead ones? that you may see your doggies showing interest in?? they’re the ones to spray all over with a strong substance, I used to use DETTOL – so they associate a horrid smell with the critters and (I sounded and looked like an idiot) but I’d always “oh NO, YUk” etc etc I would also use the DETTOL on other things that they already knew were out of bounds and not allowed to touch, it reinforced the idea and never failed. It worked so well in fact that if there was a live toad say on the back patio sitting there and the dogs would be out there with us, we’d go and do the “oh NO” business and the dogs would turn away with worry. (Hope this long-winded reply helps) :))

      • Flo says:

        Thanks for that Rose, I’d no idea how to ward them away from those dangerous little suckers. I shall try that. The Hop Stop I spray them with smells like hospital disinfectant, but that doesn’t seem to stop Flo’s curiosity – Elsie hasn’t encountered it yet because I dispose of them so quickly so she doesn’t even lick one. I haven’t tried frightening the bejeezus out of them when they go near one… I need to get me a claxon or something! xx

      • Rose says:

        I did mean to add, also tip some Tabasco Hot sauce over them too, this works a treat if you have a r.e.a.l.l.y curious dog who’ll nose right up close or do a little lick. Be generous with the stuff, “cruel to be kind” is very apt in this toad issue.

  9. Jodi Stone says:

    A crocodile! OMD I would have lost my mind. I’m guessing from the size of it, it was a baby croc. Do you live close to the ocean?

    • Flo says:

      Yes, it was probably only a couple of years old at the most. I suppose we don’t live far from the ocean, but salties inhabit the swamps and mangrove areas, and move a long way up the river systems too (don’t be fooled by the name ‘saltwater crocodile’). Basically, you can find them anywhere but I still would never in a million years have expected to find one in my garden. I think this one is most likely to be an escapee either from the croc park which is very close by or it’s someone’s pet, which has either been let go or got out somehow.

  10. raisingdaisy says:

    That has to be the most unique thing I’ve ever heard of a dog eating! What a wild thing to find in your garden! Elsie sure keeps life interesting! 😀

  11. Charlotte Anderson says:

    Elsie was on her outside bed? You are lucky she didn’t bring it to share with you!!

  12. Bongo says:

    What a tasty treat. How big do those things get? Do they grow into the scary crocodiles we hear about?

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Yikes! It looks scary even chewed!

Leave a Reply

