… Are they back? Or is it just a one off?

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.  I never meant to be away for such a long time… whoops.  You’d think after this long I’d have something of substance to write about too, wouldn’t you?  Alas, ’tis an empty head that I come to you with!  This time of the year can be a little overwhelming at work with end of year assessments and reporting all taking place.  It’s all so serious!  However, it is all done and now we can just have some fun as the year winds down.  Hurrah!

Life in the House of Flo has been ticking over one day at a time.  Whilst somewhat more settled, The Ritalin Kid still refuses to sleep for more than six hours at a stretch.  I can’t bring myself to put her outside – Flo and I are her pack, and it would be cruel to separate her from us at night.  Especially at this time of the year when we are prone to loud, thunderous storms.  So, a routine has been established… TRK is taken down for a final pee at around 11-11.30pm (we will be trying to make this earlier as from this evening).  Then everyone toddles off to bed, air con on, lights off.  Somewhere between 5.30 and 6am the yawning and lip smacking noises start from TRK’s pen.  I get up, put her outside and go back to bed for half an hour.  Flo doesn’t raise an eyebrow throughout this proces. During this half hour Elsie finds something to chew or play with – she’s nowhere near as destructive as her big sister in such times of isolation!

It has been a hard road with this little pup.  I’ve made some mistakes with her – when I first started putting her out at 5.30 in the mornings I’d give her the command to go for a wee and then when she obediently went off downstairs to the grass I’d run back inside, close the door and go back to bed.  This resulted in a dog that would absolutely refuse to follow the command to wee, even at 11pm, no matter how long we stood out there being eaten by mozzies, and then within 5 seconds of getting her in her pen she would squat and pee on her bed.  It took a few nights of putting the washing on at 11pm before the penny dropped… DUH!  I can see Ian Dunbar shaking his head and tsk tsk tsk-ing.  It all seems so obvious with hindsight but I must also remember that I was seriously sleep deprived and exhausted by the little sod by that stage!  Anyway, a little bit of hard work and a lot of cheering and chicken treats later, she is doing fine in the bladder-emptying department.  I am also a bit more confident in how long she can wait.  We have now had about 3 or 4 weeks without any bed-peeing issues.

If I don’t let her out at 5.30am, this is what she does to her bed…

Fergus and George are both fine.  George is beginning to want to go out a bit more after seeking refuge in the house rather than run the gauntlet of being chased by Elsie outside.  I have a little bit of the deck penned off and he can go and sit there in peace.

And finally, just for entertainment’s sake, I’m going to try and embed a very funny safety ad by the Melbourne Rail folk.  It has nothing to do with anything, except that it might make you laugh, which is a good thing.  🙂

We’re taking part in the Saturday Pet Blogger Hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Click on the icon to head over and join in.  🙂

This entry was posted in cats, dogs, pets, Ridgeback and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to … Are they back? Or is it just a one off?

  1. Rose says:

    Great to see you back and that all is ‘normal’ and good! The pooches are looking gorgeous.
    5.30am huh?…………..

    • Flo says:

      Hellooo Rose! Hopefully I can muster up some energy and enthusiasm to do another post in less than a month!! Sorry we haven’t been reading any either but will be getting ’round our faves over the next few days hopefully! And yes, it’s the 5.30am that’s been the killer for many things, including writing! xx

  2. Declan Greyhound says:

    Oh there you are! We were starting to worry about where you were. Glad you are all okay. What an excellent advert! Of course we would never get anything as amusing in Blightly. Our sensibilities would never cope with the mention of private parts and what if a small child really tried to take their helmet off in outer space? tsk tsk……… See you again soon we hope! Deccy x

    • Flo says:

      Hello Deccy! Yes, I’m sure there would be warnings aplenty involved prior to any viewing of such risky material. Though, the Beeb’s been living on the edge recently… perhaps they’d consider it! Do you remember when they took the Tango ad off because kids were smacking each other across the face in the playground?

  3. dogdaz says:

    Glad you could still laugh, even if it is at sick safety videos. I understand being sleep deprived since around here the young ones wake you and just when you get to sleep the old ones wake you. Sounds like you are getting the rountine in hand.

  4. rumpydog says:

    Hi! It’s good to see you again. Glad to hear things are going well for the most part. You’ll get there….. it just takes time. 🙂

  5. Gizmo says:

    This is my first time here and I have to tell you how much I enjoy your writing style…I feel like I’m there in your kitchen having a chat; thanks for that and thanks for the laugh!

  6. Excellent video!
    I remember when Tommy first arrived, taking him out every night between 3 and 4am, in the middle of the winter. I miss it NOT!

  7. Loy says:

    Good luck with the ‘wee’ training! Love the ‘Dumb Ways To Die’ video! Very funny!

  8. Good to see ya! Wow, Elsie has gotten so big! I love her coloring
    Nola

  9. Good god, you’ve taken your time to post. I thought some storm had washed you guys away. Saw that vid on telly last week. BWAH haha! And the day after, I saw The Other One On The Bus that went viral. *sigh*

    • Flo says:

      I know, I’m sorry. Just haven’t had the energy, brain power or motivation to post… or even keep up with reading. Bah. I’m hoping to force myself back into it. Caught up with some of your posts earlier and will get ’round to the rest after I’ve had a recharging nap. 🙂

      I didn’t know there was another one of those ads.

      H

  10. Bongo says:

    My person says after hearing your stories she’s glad she got me when I was past my puppy stage. Good to see you back.

    • Flo says:

      Ha ha. Thanks Bongo. 🙂 She really is a lovely little dog. Hopefully it won’t be too long before she’s sleeping properly like her big sister!

  11. Hey Flo! How have you been? i’m sorry i haven’t come along to visit in a while. 😀 We’ve been busy preparing for da videO for Cesar Millan here: http://www.subarubestinshow.com/vote.php?dog_video=226 Today’s the final day for vOting. Just barely 3 hours to go. I was wondering if you would like to help vOte for me? 😀 Thanks Flo! Xoxoxo Poppy!

  12. Bassetmomma says:

    Good to see you again and hear that the crew is doing good. Also good to hear that TRK (love that name for Elsie)is coming along too, but 5:30 that’s too early!

    • Flo says:

      It is waaaaaay too early! I hate to write it because I’m sure it will jinx it all, but for the last 4 nights or so (since I posted, actually) she’s slept a little longer. Once until 10 mins AFTER normal alarm o’clock (that was at the weekend) and the rest of the time till only half an hour before the alarm would normally go off… could it be changing??? Those little snippets of extra sleep have made me feel like a different person!

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    We had a difficult time potty training Storm. Even today she needs to find the perfect spot to pee. She used to have accidents as a pup. It took what seemed like forever for her bladder to mature enough for her to hold it. Finally once she was close to 8 or 9 months I think, she could last a good long time and the accidents were over.

    Now here is something I learned within the last year. Thunder and Freighter’s breeder doesn’t even house break her pups until they are much older than we did. She pens the pup at night and if it has to go OK fine there is paper. She might wait until they are close to 5 or 6 months old. Her thinking is that they are not physically or mentally mature. Then once she starts, they move quickly. She has been breeding dogs for 30+ years. May not be the conventional way, but she gets her sleep. 🙂

    • Flo says:

      That’s interesting… I’ve never heard of anyone leaving it that long, but it must work for her. A big part of the problem is that Elsie had UTI when she was about 10 wks, so when she had to go she had to go, and it didn’t matter where she was. Then I managed to make her think that when she went for a wee I ran away and left her on her own outside… because that’s exactly what I was doing! She’s much better now!

  14. Welcome back! It’s so nice to learn about your adventures with the girls.

    I loved your mention of Dr. Dunbar. I remember standing in the rain when we were housetraining Honey telling myself that if I went inside and left her out to pee on her own, I’d mess up and Dr. Dunbar would never forgive me.

    It worked.

    I hope your schedule with Elsie helps her and gives you the rest you need. 🙂

Leave a Reply

