A Letter To A Special Little Cat

My beautiful, special little Fergus,

You’re the first cat that is really mine.  I’d had another cat before you but when I moved out of home she stayed; not, you understand, because I wouldn’t have taken her with me but because, in the words of my father, ‘you cannae take her away from her little garden’… I got that cat in my teens and she died when I was in my mid-30s.  She had a good life in her ‘little garden’ with my parents.  Fergus, you are nearly 9.  I’ve owned you for 8 of those years.  SONY DSCTogether we have made 3 house moves.  You like to be outside and you’ve never been afraid to wander afar.  Do you remember when I had to go looking for you to bring you in overnight, and I eventually found you stalking around in the university grounds at midnight?  You set off one of the building alarms and I had to hide in the shadows bushes as the security people checked things out… that was a close call.  I’m not sure how I would’ve explained that one if I’d been caught – you’d run off by then!  When we first moved into our present house you spent a few nights stuck up trees before you learned how to make a controlled descent.  You also worried the neighbours the night you spent on their roof; I knew you would come down by SONY DSCyourself in the morning when you could see more clearly, and you did.  You’ve reluctantly tolerated George’s arrival and I think you might even like Flo and Elsie.  You don’t bite or scratch, no matter what.  You take everything life throws at you in your stride.  Even the accident that so very nearly ended it all.  I am sorry about that.  It’s put an end to your outside escapades and I know that is hard for you, especially when I’m gardening but let’s face it, that doesn’t happen very often.  Inside you have the run of the house, plenty to eat, toys with which you refuse to play and lots of window sills to lie on, relaxing.

I love the way you squeak when you are picked up – we used you as stand in bagpipes at our Burns Supper.  I love the way you run to be brushed and drool all the way through grooming.  I love the soft fur of your belly and SONY DSCthe smell of your paws.  I love that little noise you make when you’re really content.  I love that you try to bury your way under everything.  I love that you go wild over a damp towel.  I love that you mince around walk like Hercule Poirot.  I love that you surprise visitors by licking their feet.  I love that you endear yourself to everyone who comes through the door.

I will never move anywhere that I can’t take you.  I will never abandon you.  I will always feel dreadful about the accident.  You can do no wrong, so please, please stop peeing on the rug!

Love,
Mum.

This entry was posted in cats, pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Letter To A Special Little Cat

  1. Bongo says:

    My person laughed out loud when she got to the end. We weren’t expecting that ending at all.

  2. Awwww…is mama having a sooky moment, Fergus? With your wandering ways, I’m not surprised she’s got you in the house. I wonder what it is about damp towels that you love? X

  3. Rose says:

    Stone the crows and all that, I’m not even a cat lover but this had me tear-ing up and then at the end I choked I laughed so much. I have to say he’s pretty darn cute.
    :))

    • Flo says:

      Ha ha Rose… you know me better than that… I’m not good at ‘totally serious’, though I can do it at a push. Sorry for making you choke! So long as you didn’t spit coffee over your screen. And don’t be fooled by the name, Fergus is a girl!

  4. kolytyi says:

    Ohhhh, this is sooooooooooooooo touching, melting, pathetic! Perhaps she would consider a special offer – please, present your proposal about treats, toys, etc.! 🙂

  5. Oh Fergus! Really! You have reduced her to a little puddle on the floor. Ooops… shouldn’t have said that…. Let’s say she is putty in your paws.

  6. Loy says:

    What a nice commentary on a beloved kitty…and the end line is what makes it sooooooooo real! LOL Good luck with your ‘rugs’! Happy Saturday!

  7. dogdaz says:

    I was smiling until the last line. Sorry he has gone that way. I know it all to well. Love and good luck.

  8. Declan Greyhound says:

    You know what? You two are VERY lucky to have each other! 🙂

  9. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh rug peeing…. But a beautiful letter nonetheless. 🙂

  10. Jodi says:

    It was a lovely letter and made me gasp at the end. Let me ask, has the vet ruled out a urinary tract infection? Or could it be the addition of Miss Elsie?

    • Flo says:

      No, I’m not worried about her having a uti, (sadly) she’s just being an annoying princess who won’t go near the litter tray if there’s anything in it.

Leave a Reply

