Monday Mischief: What’s Worse Than Finding A Rat In Your Golf Bag?

Today’s mischief wasn’t caused by any permanent occupants of Flo’s house, but by unwanted house guests.

I have known there’s been a rat in the storeroom for several weeks.  It was nibbling away at the lambs’ ears I had for the dogs.  In the past I’ve used an ultra sonic pulse thingie which is supposed to encourage rodents to seek out alternative living arrangements.  When that didn’t work, about a month ago I put a humane trap down, baited with the last of the ears.  The lamb’s ear is still there, untouched so I thought Ratty must’ve moved on.  That was until I started to get a distinct whiff of eau de rodent earlier on this week.  Thursday was a public holiday so I had a few jobs that needed to be done, one of which was waterproofing a couch that is to go up on the deck upstairs but which has, until now, been hidden away in the store room, out of reach of the jaws of destruction.  It’s removal gave me better access to the room, so George was brought down to earn his keep and find the rat.  Slightly surprisingly and to his credit, he instantly picked up on the scent and went off into the corner, where he sat and stared.  I could hear a little scritching and scratching but couldn’t work out exactly where this blasted thing was.  Until I moved my golf bag.  And George’s gaze remained fixed on it.  Let’s just say it was an interesting manoevre that saw me exit the door over the golf bag.  I did manage to get the bag out as well, without any rodents running up my arms or legs.  I lay it down on its side and out ran the offending beast, off into the bushes.  Phew!  To my horror another rat exited the bag while I was taking the clubs out to give them a wash and straight back into the store room, where I suspect it still is.  What if there was a nest of them?  Urgh!  I know, I know, I’m supposed to be a zoologist, but that doesn’t mean I want a family of furry, stinky little mammals living IN my golf bag.  The clubs were unceremoniously yanked out at arms’ length and the whole bag tipped upside down and banged on the floor.

At that point the snake skin came out.  Minus the snake.  The bag lay downstairs undisturbed for several hours while I poured myself a stiff gin worked out what to do with it.  Four gin and tonics later I eventually plucked up the courage to have a good look inside and am pleased to report that there was nothing else living in there.  I haven’t been brave enough to unzip any pockets.  I’m not sure whether or not the snake skin is an attempt at rodent humour and they’ve just found it somewhere and used it to line their nest, or if the snake was in there at some point too.  I’m also not sure where they found the skin, if it wasn’t already in the bag.

Proof, were it needed, that I don’t play enough golf.  🙂

Monday MischiefHop over to Snoopy’s blog and take part in the fun!  Just click on the link above.

This entry was posted in cats, Monday Mischief, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Monday Mischief: What’s Worse Than Finding A Rat In Your Golf Bag?

  1. Declan Greyhound says:

    Now that wouldn’t happen in Scotland would it? Well maybe the rats (and likely much bigger…) You’d probably tip your bag up and find several half eaten deep fried Mars bars.
    BTW I’d had a pigs ear just before the toe incident. Now that I am bandaged and limping pathetically about the place (I walk completely normally once the bandage is removed) I am cadging slices of garlic sausage as a way of managing the pain.

    • Flo says:

      Good to hear Deccy, but I would highly recommend an attempt at self medication on the garlic sausages front. Humans never get the dosage right. 🙂

      As for finding half eaten deep fried Mars bars… that would never happen; I (nor any self respecting Scottish rat) would ever leave half of any sort of Mars bar.

  2. kzemek says:

    YUCK–I think if I were you, I’d get a new bag. That would have made for an interesting video.

    • Flo says:

      It has crossed my mind! The rats chewed through one of the little club socks too, so I’ll have to either put my hand in my pocket or start knitting!

  3. Oooooh, creepy! You definitely need to play more golf! 😉

  4. HaHa! A golf bag as a rat condo. That’s a good one! Maybe you can do a paper on how rats are adapting to modern urban living?

    As far as I know, we only have very tiny mice around here, and woe betide any poor creature that actually ventures into the house, with my four fearless hunters…

    • Flo says:

      If Fergus were allowed outside I’m sure there wouldn’t have been any rats in there. I toyed with the idea of taking her down to the store room but didn’t think it would be fair to remind her of outdoor life only to confine her again. 😦

  5. 2browndawgs says:

    Yuck. I wonder if the snake was dead in there and the rats ate it? I know it is usually the other way around, but those sound like resourceful rats.

    • Flo says:

      Oh I just don’t know! I somehow doubt they ever cohabited so I suspect that the rats moved in when the snake moved out! I knew there’d been a snake in the store room because it pooed a BIG way-too-big-to-be-any-other-kind-of-reptile poo up on one of the high shelves and despite pulling everything out (including the box of hoses!!) I never found it. We have had a snake-bite death in the last week here in the next suburb, so I’m taking it all quite seriously, despite making light of it in this forum!

  6. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Wow – That sure is a lot of mischief – They must have thought they could live in their for a while until kitty gave their game away! I’m impressed you were able to touch the bag, my Mum would probably have ran screaming! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  7. FleaByte says:

    Holy crap on a stick.

  8. barkandchatter says:

    YIKES! What an ordeal! I need a G&T just reading it!

  9. Bailey says:

    We had to bring in an exterminator to deal with the mice, the humane methods all failed. What we discovered is they don’t do snakes. The dogs have been pointing out when they get in and we have family that will remove them when we can find them. Thankfully they are harmless, but I still can’t stand to be near them.

    • Flo says:

      Don’t you have a snake catcher service in your area?? I know we do and from what I can gather, he’s a very busy chap at the moment – it seems there are snakes all over the place. I don’t think the one that left the skin is still in my store room, but I do plan on being careful in there!

  10. Nothing worse than unwanted guests – at least I am dealing with ants and spiders and not rats and snakes – YUCKO! Have a Great One:)

  11. You can keep that mischief, I’d rather deal with the talking chicken head.

  12. Rose says:

    HAhahaha, I am filled with wonder and admiration that you were down there alone……..oh well, you did have fearless ratter George…… I have to say ‘H’, I am the biggest wimp imaginable when it comes to things-that-scurry….. 🙂

    • Flo says:

      George? Fearless? Snigger. He looked just as surprised and almost as horrified as I did when Rat #2 ran back into the store room.

  13. Kat says:

    Ewww, guess you’re more P**d off that teed off at the moment! Huge bravery points to you X

  14. Kat says:

    …. of course that should read ‘than’ teed off … just can’t get the typists nowadays! 🙂

  15. Goodness, you’ve got some resourceful rodents if they really were using a snakeskin as a liner…that begs the question though, what really happened to the snake? I don’t think I would want to know…This gal is not a snake person. Your George looks like he is quite the fearsome rodent killer though 🙂

  16. Oh, you lucky creature. They say you can tell you have a healthy yard and happy home when god’s little creatures enjoy being there.

    BTW, what do you feed your 2 hunting dogs and cats for? Are they really earning their keep? Just a thought 😉

Leave a Reply

