Can We Please Have Our Normal Back?

This week has been a little on the scary side.

Everything was normal with the House of Flo until Wednesday night.  After a very normal piggy ear when I got home from work we had a very normal trip to the dog park followed by a very normal evening of dogs flaked out on their beds.  At about 8.30pm I noticed something on Flo’s stomach and when I looked more closely I saw that it was covered in little sub-cutaneous bleeds measuring anything from 1mm to a couple of centimetres.  They were also all over her legs, chest, flanks and in her ears; basically she was covered from head to foot.  I phoned the after hours vet (there is only one on-call vet and it won’t necessarily be one of the vets from your practice) who reassured me that it was probably some kind of allergic reaction.  As I had some anti-histamines for Elsie she said to go ahead and give her a couple.  In spite of this, my gut instinct was that this was not an allergic reaction so I spent the night checking on her which meant that neither of us got a good night’s sleep!

SONY DSC

Of course this happened the night before what was already scheduled to be a long and inflexible day; I had to be on duty at 7.45am and, because of a day-long function, wasn’t going to have any breaks until 2.30pm.  I had a window of 10 minutes between 8am and 8.10am during which to organise a trip to the vet and organise for Aunty J to check on Flo during the day to make sure she was okay.  Thank goodness for friends.  Flo loves Aunty J and when she went over to check on her, Flo was apparently very excited to see her and was clearly happy enough in herself with plenty of energy.

SONY DSC

When we got to the vet later that day she was immediately given shots of coagulant, vitamin B complex, steroids and anti-inflammatories.  I also have a host of things to give her at home including vitamin K1 which will continue to help her blood clot properly.  We had a revist early this morning and I am pleased to say that there are no new bleeds and the old ones are fading nicely.  She’s to be kept quiet to prevent her blood pressure going up which means she’s going to have to miss out on the annual RSPCA Million Paws Walk next weekend.  Elsie and I will have to do our best without her.

As to why this has happened… it’s a mystery.  She’s never had any signs of blood problems before so, the first vet could be right and it could just be some sort of allergic reaction.  It could also be a bacterial or viral infection, so she’s on anti-biotics as well.  The other thing that it could be, and I’m thinking it may be more likely, is that she has somehow ingested rat poison.  I don’t keep anything like that around the house or yard and I don’t think many of my neighbours would either as lots of them have dogs themselves.  However, you will know from one of my recent posts that I have had rats in my storeroom, which means that other people probably do too, which means that someone nearby may be trying to poison them.  If that is the case, I thank goodness that she is a big dog whose system has been able to handle it.

SONY DSC

My beautiful bookends

On the plus side, I’ve also come away from the vet with hormones to give Miss Fabulous which will hopefully help sort out her plumbing issues, which, as we all know, are made a thousand times worse when she is on anti-inflammatories like she is now!  I am very keen to see if they work because it would really make a difference to day-to-day life!  I’m trying not to get too excited at the prospect of life without pee pads…

We're taking part in the Pet Blogger Hop hosted by Life With Dogs.  Hop over to join in.

We’re taking part in the Pet Blogger Hop hosted by Life With Dogs. Hop over to join in.

This entry was posted in dogs, Health, pets, Ridgeback and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Can We Please Have Our Normal Back?

  1. Oh no – poor pup – hopefully this does not happen again! Sending good thoughts and prayers:)

  2. rumpydog says:

    Oh Dog! I am sad to read this. Take care my friend!

  3. Oh take it easy friends xxxx big furry hugs from us all

  4. Poor “Little” Flo! That must have been rathe frightening, and we’re glad she’s better. Not nice to have a mystery remain, though. We hope you can figure it out eventually.

    • Flo says:

      It is frightening… I’m really hoping that it is something like poisoning (ridiculous as that sounds) because at least that’s likely to be a one-off. What scares me is not the bleeds you can see but the ones you can’t so here’s to it not happening again.

  5. 2browndawgs says:

    Sounds very stressful. Hope Flo is OK!

  6. Hawk aka BrownDog says:

    Hi Y’all!

    Having suffered from allergies to everything for many years until my Human took me to a dentist…a vet who only practices pawed one dentistry…I know first hand what Flo is suffering having to take all those meds…sigh…My paws are crossed for her quick recovery!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  7. Dear god. that looks awful! It actually sounds eerily similar to what my brother is /has been going through. He’s taking stuff for clotting too!

    Rat poison sounds like a real possibility. I worry about that here too. We have rats in the neighbourhood and I know of at least one neighbour a couple doors away who baits them. 2 have come over to our yard to die. miraculously Georgia didn’t touch either of them.

    So glad Flo’s a big dog and that things are under control. Yay for the hormones thing! Let us know if it works. I suspect incontinence will be in Georgia’s near future as well.

    HUGS to all of you X

    • Flo says:

      Oh my goodness – your poor brother. I hope he’s got it all under control because it is frightening. I can’t imagine it’s any fun for any of you. Flo is finding the medication thing rather good as she gets them in a lump of minced meat. Perhaps your brother could perk his day up by doing something similar… maybe meds in a doghnut… the vit K1 has to be taken with a reasonably fatty meal to aid absorption… 🙂

      As for the rat poison, I find it disturbing that I am hoping my dog has ‘just’ eaten a rat that’s eaten some bait. I’m not sure that she would even have found it in the garden – Elsie seems fine and it’s hard to believe that she wouldn’t have (a) found it first, or (b) been in on the action. As it can take a few days for these symptoms to appear after eating bait it could’ve been anywhere. Who knows. I think, given the lovely Miss Georgia’s propensity to seek out and eat dead things, you’ve been lucky with those rats in your yard too!

      I’ll keep you posted on the hormone thing… the pee pads on her bed last night were saturated this morning so they haven’t kicked in quite yet – we have to do one pill a day for a week and then a couple a week after that, so I’m thinking it’ll take the best part of 7 days to start to have an effect. It may also be the case that any benefits are outweighed by the work of the anti-inflammatories. Arrrrrrgh!

      • You poor thing. Saturated! That’s a lot of pee 😦 You must be so harried (best word I can think of at the mo).

        Yes, maybe we could stuff my brother’s meds in some minced meat. If it’s deep fried, he’d probably eat it.

      • Flo says:

        Harried? Shall have to look that one up… hopefully it doesn’t have anything to do with (the current) third in line to the throne! As for your brother… given the operation he’s just had, perhaps deep fried anything isn’t such a marvellous idea!

  8. Declan Greyhound says:

    Oh my, it’s a good job you love those girls…..and have great insurance! It’s a pity they don’t come with a 5 year warranty really. Someone should do a list of the top 10 dogs least likely to break down……..

    • Flo says:

      Yup, will be claiming this one in case there are further issues down the line, though I’m hoping there won’t be. 😦

      Elsie was playing with two greyhounds last night at the dog park. They were lovely. I am very pleased to say that one of them was called Rocket. I like a good cliche 🙂

  9. Rose says:

    Wow you and Typist answered a lot of my questions. This was so awful – for everyone. The most curious thing is that I. HAD. NO. IDEA. a dog would eat a rat. The “Team” would never even chase a rat, but Jana (RIP) would catch mice and leave them at the steps for me. I never thought a dog would eat a rodent – wow you learn something every day! Poor Flo, poor you – you’ve really been through it!
    Gawd, melt my heart with that photo of your “Bookends” ! 🙂

    • Flo says:

      Haha! They’ll eat their own poo Rose, so a rat’s got to look appetising by comparison! Having said that, I don’t know if that’s what she’s done; it’s the great unanswered.

  10. I was starting to worry when I saw the pics! I am glad Flo is better!
    Purrs

    • Flo says:

      Thanks, she’s still on meds; I’m a bit nervous about what will happen when they’re finished – I’m hoping that it doesn’t happen again.

  11. I hope she is feeling better! It reminded me of a rash that Sampson had on his tummy, the V.E.T. said it was a staph infection. Thankfully a course of antibiotics cleared it up.

Leave a Reply

