Smokey Comes Closer…

image

I’ve given our little foster kitten some ‘Rescue Remedy’ to help calm her down and it has helped quite a bit. She’s come much closer though I still haven’t tried to pet her. She was purring like mad earlier and lapped a bowl of yoghurt up when it was quite close to me. She’s been eating like a trooper and using the litter tray. I have noticed that as soon as I leave the room she comes out from hiding and sniffs at the door then settles down just on the other side; I can see her refection on the polished floor under the door!

It’s still hard to tell how big she is or whether she’s likely to have her kittens any time soon.

This entry was posted in cats, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Smokey Comes Closer…

  1. The best of luck with Smokey. I’m sure she’ll come round eventually. With lots of love and patience, they always do 🙂

  2. Declan Greyhound says:

    Slowly slowly……

  3. Awww bless her. Rescue remedy was a god send for my Aunt when she had a nervous puppy to foster. I’m sure she will come around soon.

    ~Amy

    • Flo says:

      I am amazed at how well it worked. I’m not sure how long I’ll have to keep it up for or whether she will revert to being a timid little thing if I stop. Time will tell I suppose. So long as she lets me handle those kittens so I can check them over!

  4. Rose says:

    Of course! Rescue Remedy, should have thought of it! Slow progress but its awfully exciting. She’s such a cutie………….haha nothing like a good old Woolies bbq chicken to do the trick!

    • Flo says:

      A Woollies chicken would certainly get me out from under a bed! Big progress yesterday after I took that photo – she came and ate while I was still putting the food in the bowl so I gave her a little scratch and my goodness me, didn’t that just open the floodgates of affection. I was thoroughly spoiled every time I went in. 🙂 She’s back under the bed this morning though! It gave me real hope that she can be someone’s pet once these kittens have moved on.

  5. What a pretty kitty – seems like the 2 of you are making progress – Great News! Happy Monday:)

  6. 2browndawgs says:

    She sure is pretty!

  7. It can be so hard to be patient, but it sounds as though you are making goof progress.

  8. Julie says:

    You should check out Jackson Galaxy, “the cat daddy”. He has the show “My cat from hell” on Animal Planet, and he has a youtube channel in his own name. I personally find him brilliant. Lovely to have an animal training show that is working with them on their terms.

  9. Poor sweet little baby, I’m glad she’s warming up.

Leave a Reply

