Galavanting Absence

Helloooooo!

Apologies for the lack of posts.  Miss Fab, her sidekick plus the two cats have been left in the care of Aunty M who is sending through regular updates and photos but I haven’t had time to sit down and compose a post.

I’ve had a change of scenery for the last few weeks.

St Giles Cathedral

St Giles Cathedral, Edinburgh

Salisbury Crags

Salisbury Crags and Arthur’s Seat

Museum hall

The National Museum of Scotland, Chambers Street, one of the places I once worked.

Old College

My old university

Dunbar Harbour

Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian

Dunblane Cathedral

Dunblane Cathedral

Dunblane telephone box

An icon

Marsh Thistle

Marsh thistle

Thistle 2

Not a marsh thistle

Thistle 3

The bumble bees loved this particular flavour

Bee

They also loved this plant in my friend’s garden up t’north. I’ve no idea what the plant is.

Haggis crisps

Mmmmmm.

YouTube cat

My mum’s cat. It has a name but I call it the YouTube cat because it’s so fat it should be on YouTube.

Heron Gull

This one’s for you Rose! It’s a cheeky herron gull which landed on our bonnet while we were eating fish and chips in the car. They have a red dot on their beaks which, if my university memory serves me right, is a pecking point for the young. I’m not sure if that’s true.

Scotch mist

This is what you would normally expect of a Scottish summer but in fact, it was marvellous weather for just about the whole trip. In fact, inland 10 mins from where this was taken there was glorious sunshine.

Dunblane Hairdresser

And of course, everything stopped in Dunblane for the Men’s Finals. I watched it in the house where Andy Murray used to live – my friend lives there now!

Andy Murray win

… he did us proud! Well done Andy!

 

Elsie & Flo - cracker night

Both dogs sat on Aunty M’s feet during the fireworks on Territory Day.

George & Fergus - cracker night

George and Fergus stayed close on cracker night too.

Elsie & Flo

I can’t wait to see my two dorks again. 🙂

Meanwhile, the wheels have fallen off the front gate, a rat moved into the store room and decided he didn’t like it so has moved upstairs into the house and Elsie has demolished 2 more collars (at last count).  Marvellous.

This entry was posted in cats, dogs, pets, Photography, Ridgeback, Ridgeback behaviour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Galavanting Absence

  1. Declan Greyhound says:

    Oooh you’ve been back to the old country! You should have said you were up t’north, given that we are too. I would have let you buy me a glass of red wine….it’s me favourite.

    • Flo says:

      Haha! We were up further t’north than you I’m afraid, in fact, I didn’t even make it as far south as Northumberland this time! Gottogo, plane boarding. Nearly home! Will catch up on your posts soon!

  2. Rose says:

    Whoa ‘H’, what a place to go missing in action!! Wonderful photos, clever girl. I love your university, what a building! and all the others too of course.
    I ADORE THE GULL! What a lucky snap! He’s a beauty.
    Sounds like the puppies dogs have been spoilt (hopefully not the rat too) during your absence. What a wonderful selection of photos, maybe you’ll have some more to share?
    WELCOME HOME!

    • Flo says:

      Tee hee. Thanks Rose. I’d like to say that the seagull was a lucky snap but he and his friend sat on the bonnet for literally half an hour staring at us eating our fish and chips!

  3. Bassa's Blog says:

    Stunning pictures. The closeup of the bee is awesome!

  4. Are you still among the burrs? Are you home? I love the thistle and bee shots! As for the haggis? ARRRRGGGGGHHHH. I can’t put enough Rs, G’s and H’s into that. Cushion loves it though.

    Your babies look good! I think Elsie has grown again in my absence. Big hugs wherever you are X

  5. What?!!! You haven’t even published my comment yet? Surely you must have recovered from jet lag by now. Please come out and play. Miss you. Hope the girls survived your absence x

    • Flo says:

      Oh dear, what a dreadful blogger! Sorry, I haven’t checked in to the blog AT ALL for such a long time. So much so that I can’t even remember how to navigate ’round the site and am getting quite ratty. I haven’t even been reading. I don’t feel in the least guilty for not blogging but I do feel neglectful for not reading… sorry again! I shall endeavour to pop over at some point today and catch up. Where were you anyway??! 😉 It rained here last night (while we were out on our walk, typical, it doesn’t rain for six months, looks like it’s going to all day and then BANG! it comes pouring down the only time in the day you’d rather it didn’t. Anyway, what that means is that the dry season visitors have all gone and things can quieten down to normality again. That may mean a post soon. Or not. I don’t know! Thank you for checking in on us!

  6. And almost 2 months later, I read the reply 😉 If there were more bloggers like us, there wouldn’t be any blog land. Hooroo! X

Leave a Reply

