Monday Mischief – Eau De Carcass

It has been one of those weeks…

Five dead cane toads in the garden, a dead lizard on the bottom of the pool and then there was the piece de resistance…

I had received a whiff of ‘dead thing’ on Friday afternoon when I was busy fiddling with the reticulation but couldn’t find where it was coming from.  The following day, I noticed that there were loads of figs on my fig tree so thought I’d venture in amongst the vegetation to collect some.  That’s when I found the source of the olfactory unpleasantness… a very deceased and ‘past the point of pickupableness’ rotting fruit bat (sometimes called a flying fox) between the lawn and all the figgy loveliness that I wanted to reach.  One of the things I have learnt, living here in the tropics, is that there is a short window of opportunity for the (easy) collection and disposal of things which expire in the garden.  Should that window be missed then it is far better to leave whatever it is where it is and let nature take its course.  This has never been a problem in the past, but nothing as large as a fruit bat has ever shuffled off its mortal coil in one of my garden beds before.  So, I left it.  I wasn’t worried about the dogs getting to it as they had shown it absolutely no interest up to that point.  Indeed, had they, I may not have missed the window…

So, time of death was put sometime around Wednesday or Thursday.  I found it on Friday afternoon – after the bins had been emptied for the week.  As the week progressed, none of the dogs paid any notice to the writhing carcass as its ponginess gained momentum.  My plan was to shovel it into a thick bin bag on the following Friday morning and put it out with the rubbish for collection, along with all the little bagged up and ready cane toad corpses.  Come Thursday afternoon, I arrived home and caught a whiff of Eau de Carcass from the deck up at the front door.  Urgh!  It was getting really rank.  I investigated downstairs to find, to my surprise, that there was no carcass.  Weird.  Back upstairs at the door I got another whiff… the penny dropped.  It clanged, in fact.  Staring at the dogs, I wondered who was the culprit and what they had done with the dead bat.  Tentatively, I took a sniff of Flo – nope, she just smelled of dog.  Elsie?  Same thing.  Zac, however, when I got near to him caused stomach convulsions.  Piecing it all together, I think that Zac had been leaving the bat as long as he dared, to ripen, to achieve its peak festieness and he had then firstly rolled in it, then consumed it in its entirety, save for a couple of small pieces of leathery wing, which I found downstairs on his bed.

Zac hasn’t been allowed back in the house.  I suspect he thinks it was worth it though.

What do you mean I can't come in yet?  It's been 48 hours and 3 shampoos since the bat incident...

What do you mean I can’t come in yet? It’s been 48 hours and 3 shampoos since the bat incident…

We’re taking part in Monday Mischief, hosted by Snoopy’s blog.  Click on the link to pop over and join in!

Click on the link to Hop Over to Snoopy's Blog and join in the Monday Mischief Blog Hop

Click on the link to Hop Over to Snoopy’s Blog and join in the Monday Mischief Blog Hop

This entry was posted in Australia, dogs, Monday Mischief, pets, Ridgeback, Ridgeback behaviour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monday Mischief – Eau De Carcass

  1. And we always thought fox poo was the pits…

  2. Rose says:

    Oh Zac! Oooooh Zaaaac…………..

  3. Oh yuck! Zac, you win today’s mischief, paws down.

    My dogs love to roll in dead and stinky things, but never something as large as a fruit bat. And they have never eaten it.

    So did you try to give your human sweet doggy kisses after that?

    Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats.

  4. Hawk aka BrownDog says:

    Hi Y’all!

    Oops! I read this to my Human and she flew from the room. Think she’s a wee bit ill at her tummy. That was too much mischief for her.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  5. Well, buddy you definitely get the prize for mischief! Way to go!!! BOL!!!

  6. Love your writing. Sounds like you’ve been up to alot of mischief.

  7. Wow, that must have been one powerful smell – yuck…

  8. Rama's Mama says:

    Ewwwwww! Oh my goodness! Zac ees steenky!

  9. Wazeau says:

    Ummm… Ewwwww! LOL

  10. HausofPug says:

    That… Is… So… Gross! I can almost smell it through the words on the computer screen!

Leave a Reply

